6 Comments

A Most Dangerous Deception: an unholy mixture


This evening I was reading over a couple old posts and Jesse Penn-Lewis’ warning concerning an ‘unholy mixture’ (from her book, War on the Saints) came to mind:

“There must be more then one quantity to make a mixture, at least two. Satan [the Devil] mixes his lies with truth, for he must use truth to carry his lies. Again–Satan is a ‘mixer’. If he finds anything to be 99% pure, he tries to insert 1% of his poisonous stream, and this grows, if undetected, until the proportions are reversed.” (chapter 6, Discerning Good and Evil)

Some don’t believe both truth [God's Word] and lies can come forth from the same preacher, teacher, etc. The draw on James’ words to prove their point:

Doth a fountain send forth at the same place sweet water and bitter? Can the fig tree, my brethren, bear olive berries? either a vine, figs? so can no fountain both yield salt water and fresh. chapter 3: 11-12

But James is actually writing about offending, the tongue, and  ‘blessing and cursing’ (see verses  2-10).

It doesn’t take great discernment on our part, to recognize many if not most of the well known false prophets and teachers today. They’re sorta out there in the twilight-zone with their teachings, words, and weird doctrines. But those who ‘mix’ truth (and sometimes a great deal of it) with lies are a little more difficult to point out; In fact I believe its safe to say without the Holy Spirit gift of discernment actively operating within the believer, it’s impossible to catch the lie.

Its why its so very important to stay in the Word, to ‘know it’ intimately, and to recognize the prompting of the indwelling Holy Spirit.

Anyway, the two posts which caught my attention are both related to this mixture. One, which you’re probably familiar with, was a prophecy given out by Stanley Frodsham in 1965. Most Christians have read it at one time or another, but I still want to re-post a few quotes. (if interested, you can read it all here)

THIS PROPHECY WAS GIVEN at the Elim Bible Institute USA, in 1965 by the late Stanley Frodsham.

quote..

When I visit My people in power, it is to prepare them for the darkness ahead. With the glory shall come great darkness, for the glory is to prepare My people for the darkness. I will enable My people to go through because of the visitation of My Spirit. Take heed to yourselves lest you be puffed up and think that you have arrived. Many shall be puffed up as in the olden days, for many then received My message but they continued not in it. Did I not anoint Jehu? Yet the things I desired were not accomplished in his life. Listen to the messengers, but do not hold men’s persons in admiration. For many whom I shall anoint mightily, with signs and miracles, shall become lifted up and shall fall by the wayside. I do not this willingly; I have made provision that they might stand. I call many into this ministry, and equip them; but remember that many shall fall. They shall be like bright lights, and the people shall delight in them. But they shall be taken over by deceiving spirits and shall lead many of My people astray.

Hearken diligently concerning these things, for in the last days shall come seducing spirits that shall turn many of My anointed ones away.

Many shall fall through divers lusts, and because of sin abounding. But if you will seek Me diligently I will put My Spirit within you. When one shall turn to the right hand or to the left you shall not turn with them, but keep your eyes wholly on the Lord. The coming days are the most dangerous, difficult and dark, but there shall be a mighty outpouring of My Spirit upon many cities, and many shall be destroyed.

My people must be diligently warned concerning the days that are ahead. Many shall turn after seducing spirits; many are already seducing My people. Many cover their sins by great theological words.

But I warn you of seducing spirits who instruct My people in an evil way. Many of these I shall anoint, that they may purify and sift My people; for I would have a holy people.

I want to stop there for a moment. Did you catch that last part?

I warn you of seducing spirits who instruct My people in an evil way. Many of these I shall anoint, that they may purify and sift My people; for I would have a holy people

What do you think about that? Can it be that God Himself would ‘anoint’ one (a teacher/preacher/prophet) with an evil seducing spirit–in order to sift His people?

moving on..

Many shall come with seducing spirits and hold out lustful enticements… the way shall become more and more narrow, and fewer shall walk there in.

But be not deceived, the ways of righteousness are My ways. For though Satan come as an angel of light hearken not to him; for those who perform miracles and speak not righteousness are not of Me.

I warn you with great intensity that I am going to judge My house and have a church without spot or wrinkle when I come. I desire to open your eyes and give you spiritual understanding, that you may not be deceived but may walk with uprightness of heart before Me, loving righteousness and hating every evil way.

Look unto Me and I will make you to perceive with the eyes of the Spirit the things that lurk in darkness, that are not visible to the human eye. Let me lead you in this way that you may perceive the powers of darkness and battle against them. It is not a battle against flesh and blood; for if you battle in that way you accomplish nothing.

(Below is what caught my attention:)

I warn you to search the Scriptures diligently these last days. For the things that are written shall indeed be made manifest. There shall come deceivers among My people in increasing numbers, who shall speak forth the truth and shall gain the favor of the people. For the people shall examine the Scriptures and say, “What these men say is true.”

Then when they have gained the hearts of the people, then and THEN ONLY shall they bring out these wrong doctrines. Therefore, I say that you should not give your hearts to men, nor hold people’s persons in admiration. For by these very persons shall Satan enter into My people.

WATCH FOR SEDUCERS. Do you think a seducer will brandish a new heresy and flaunt it before the people? He will speak the words of righteousness and truth, and will appear as a minister of light, declaring the Word. The people’s hearts shall be won. Then, when the hearts are won, they will bring out their doctrines, and the people shall be deceived.

The people shall say, “Did he not speak thus and thus? And did we not examine it from the Word? Therefore he is a minister of righteousness. This that he has now spoken we do not see in the Word, but it must be right, for the other things he spoke were true.”

Be not deceived. For the deceiver will first work to gain the hearts of many, and then shall bring forth his insidious doctrines.

You cannot discern those who are of Me and those who are not of Me when they begin to preach. But seek Me constantly, and then when these doctrines are brought out you shall have a witness in your heart that these are not of Me. Fear not, for I have warned you. Many will be deceived. But if you walk in holiness and uprightness before the Lord, your eyes shall be open… you will know when the doctrine changes, and will not be brought into it. If your heart is right I will keep you; and if you will look constantly to Me I will uphold you.

The minister of righteousness shall be on this wise — his life shall agree with the Word, and his lips shall give forth that which is wholly true, and it will be no mixture.

When the mixture appears then you will know he is not a minister of righteousness. The deceivers speak first the truth and then error, to cover their own sins which they love.

Therefore I exhort and command you to study the Scriptures relative to seducing spirits, for this is one of the great dangers of these last days.

I’ll stop there.

Many believe the prophecy given out by Stanley Frodsham in 1965 was a ‘true prophecy’. I’m not here to tell you it was or was not–you use your own discernment, holding it up to the Word of God, and decide.

I personally believe it was for it bears witnesses in my spirit, and folks, what was said above is REAL DECEPTION. The Bentley’s and Joyners–even the NAR and all the rest of the obvious, are a but a smoke-screen.

Yes, there are those caught up in these folks, they follow after them and their words and teachings–but these wolves are in no manner as dangerous as those who come into our congregations speaking truth, to only later slip in lies and doctrines of demons.

The second post was one I put up last June, in the middle of the Lakeland fiasco.

I recall reading it for the first time at what was then, Andrew Strom’s discussion board. After all the articles written and shared on the internet concerning Lakeland and the doctrines which were being preached, this one stood out.

“Facing the reality of Mixture in the Church!” – by Peter Horrobin

Again, just a few quotes-but the entire article (well worth reading again) can be found HERE

quote..

This timely article was sent per email to ministries around Holland his past week. It’s been a source of encouragement here for the light that it shines on the present ‘outpouring’.

It’s written with boldness and wisdom, leaving out names but including the signs of the manifestations, so that we can all be on the same page as he is giving all the examples of the current ‘revival’ and the impartation that is being exported around the world.

We’re thankful for this leader who has contributed this valuable and extensive teaching on discernment and his heart of a shepherd warning against deception. (Matthew 24) Giving honour to the Lord and His Word and the truth that will set free from the defeated enemy at the Cross.

With the latest outbreak of revival manifestations at Lakeland, people are already asking me questions such as “What is it all about?!” and “Is this really revival?” People are looking for answers. So, are these events straight from the pages of the Book of Acts or are they a subtle variation of new age or even occult practices? Confusion reigns.

In response to previous “revival” outbreaks in North America, many respected leaders took the stand that it’s a mixture – God’s at work, but so is the flesh as well as the enemy.

However, instead of exercising discernment and Godly authority to deal immediately with the things that were not of God, most of the proponents of the revival embraced a tolerance attitude towards what was happening.

Some claimed scriptural support for this approach from the parable of the wheat and the tares in Matthew 13:24-43. Here, Jesus said, let the wheat and the tares grow together to harvest. This was taken as support for a policy of allowing the good and the bad to happen simultaneously, in spite of the obvious danger that people could be deceived into thinking that the Holy Spirit was behind all the manifestations, some of which were, very obviously, not of God!

Jesus, however, explicitly stated that the field in which the two crops are growing is the world, not the church.

Here, the wheat and the tares must be allowed to grow together until the final end-time harvesting, otherwise many potential members of the Body of Christ will be robbed of the opportunity to decide for themselves and choose salvation.

Applying this parable, out of context, to the church, is like saying that the principle of letting the good and the bad grow together is equally appropriate inside the Body of Christ. This is not true.

Nowhere in Scripture can such a view be found or substantiated.

“the Bible gives us no liberty to tolerate the incursion of evil into the church.”

If you want to know how to handle things in the church, you have to look at the Pastoral Epistles, where discipleship and a journey towards holiness are the expected norm.

Unrestricted freedom for the demonic to produce manifestations, which are then labelled as the work of the Holy Spirit, will always result in the possibility that even the very elect might be deceived, as Jesus foresaw in Matthew 24.

The fact that God may be doing good things in some people’s lives is not a valid reason for allowing the bad to prosper alongside the good.

The counterfeit must always be discerned, exposed and dealt with. Otherwise, in the eyes of the sheep, the bad is validated by the shepherds, as if it is good. That is how deception and counterfeit spirits are given license in the Body of Christ – whether it is the deception of false signs, false miracles or false prophecies, all of which we are warned about in Matthew 24. Jesus began this critical discourse on the end-times with these telling words, “Watch out that no-one deceives you.”

On another occasion, Simon Peter had just spoken out the most amazing, God-inspired, truth about the identity of the Messiah. But when, a few minutes later, the same man spoke deceptive words, Jesus did not validate the error by allowing it to stand unchecked alongside the truth.

He immediately took authority over the enemy working through Peter and said, “Get behind me Satan.”“You are a stumbling block to me; you do not have in mind the things of God, but the things of men.” Jesus was quick to discern the mixture and did not mince his words in addressing the problem. In doing this he was teaching us an important lesson.

Which brings us to the title of this article – Mixture in the Church.

If Jesus was not willing to tolerate such mixture in the life of one of his disciples, why should we allow mixture to go unchecked inside the Church? Surely we, too, should not only bless and commend whatever God may be doing, but also deal firmly with anything that is from the enemy? Isn’t that the heart of discipleship, as expressed by the senior Apostle Paul to young Timothy? Paul warned Timothy that “in later times, some will abandon the faith and follow deceiving spirits and things taught by demons” (1 Tim 4:1). Then he said, “have nothing to do with godless myths” (1 Tim 4:7), and “guard your life and your doctrine closely” Most tellingly Paul then says that this will “save both yourself and your hearers!” (1 Timothy 4:16).

The gifts of the Spirit include the gift of discernment and this is, perhaps, the most needed gift of all in the Body of Christ today.

Myriads of people have written and spoken on the prophetic and healing, but where are the complimentary voices teaching on how to apply Paul’s guidance to Timothy and how to discern the true from the false? Surely God would want the Body of Christ to give equal prominence to the one gift that can either validate or raise genuine concerns about the practice of the other gifts? Often, those who have been courageous enough to speak, even those with a balanced voice, have been dismissed as an unwanted intrusion into what “God is doing”!

Again,  I will stop here. If time allows I hope you will read the rest…

Tonight I believe God’s Spirit led me to re-read these two old posts…and to recommend them to you again. Perhaps it was to remind me (and you) that there is a lot more to the last day deception and deceivers then what we’re looking at…

A few specific points stood out in the prophecy given out by Stanley Frodsham:

“But I warn you of seducing spirits who instruct My people in an evil way. Many of these I shall anoint, that they may purify and sift My people; for I would have a holy people”

And..

I warn you to search the Scriptures diligently these last days. For the things that are written shall indeed be made manifest….There shall come deceivers among My people in increasing numbers, who shall speak forth the truth and shall gain the favor of the people….by these very persons shall Satan enter into My people.

But if you walk in holiness and uprightness before the Lord, your eyes shall be open and the Lord will protect you.

God bless..

6 comments on “A Most Dangerous Deception: an unholy mixture

  1. Thank you PJ for posting this again. Dear, God a voice of wisdom! When I so needed it. I have been so convicted to stay in the Word and pray, stay in the Word and pray. I pray God will show me when I am deceived, by myself or others. I believe the worst persecution the children of Jesus are going to get just may come from within the church itself. I don’t like saying that, but that is my gut sense. When I voiced my concern about some “Todd Bentley” style stuff I saw at my church, I was the one called a Pharisee, a person who saw demons all over the place, I was spiritually immature (actually, I’ve been a Bible reading Christian for 30 years, happily married 26 years, 3 boys, emotionally sound and following the Lord also) I’m not sure my pastor is discerning properly, I don’t feel he is dealing with the enemy that has crept in, I hope I am wrong. He’s given Bill Johnson books to the guys he’s discipling. I am praying constantly for him, and keeping my eyes and ears open. I cling to my Lord, He must show me if I am the wrong one…Yes, these days are treacherous.

    • You’re welcome Vanesa!

      I believe the worst persecution the children of Jesus are going to get just may come from within the church itself. I don’t like saying that, but that is my gut sense.

      I’ve had the same strong impression for years now. I pray we’re both wrong sister, but have a hunch we’re not.

      Persecutions ‘within’ and ‘without’…that’s what im seeing lining up. The ones from within will be the hardest to bare.

  2. >Many believe the prophecy given out by Stanley Frodsham in 1965 was a ‘true prophecy’. I’m not here to tell you it was or was not–you use your own discernment, holding it up to the Word of God, and decide.

    Even a false prophet can say true things. It is a biblical category. It’s a test from God.

    To my ear, and never having heard of the man before, Stanley Frodsham’s soi-disant prophecy is the usual patter, biblical phrases strung together in a ramble without a whole lot of coherence. Maybe he says true things, but what am I to make of it?

    Anyone who says “this is the word of the LORD” is claiming to speak with the same authority and accuracy of the prophets of old. The prophets were bringing God’s suit against faithless Israel. You could technically get stoned for being a false prophet, though apostate Israel was more likely to do it to the real ones. None of the modern wannabe prophets seem to be aware of the gravity of what they are claiming. Nor do they give me any reason to believe them except “trust me”.

    • To my ear, and never having heard of the man before, Stanley Frodsham’s soi-disant prophecy is the usual patter, biblical phrases strung together in a ramble without a whole lot of coherence. Maybe he says true things, but what am I to make of it?

      Lee, you’re really not required to make anything of it–

      It either resonates with your spirit and the Holy Spirit who dwells in you (I’m assuming you are a born again believer?) or it doesn’t.

      We are free to accept or reject any prophetic word given forth, amen?

  3. Thank you for posting this. There is a mixture and it is getting more difficult to discern what is good and true. This is especially so when looking into the emerging church, in a way Todd Bentley was easy to see through.
    The words “many of these I shall anoint” I read as people not spirits but you are probably right in your interpretation. I don’t think God does act in that way, he doesn’t take away free will and doesn’t play tricks or test people like that. He might send a strong delusion but we are quite capable of falling under that delusion if we are not careful without God’s help! :) . The scripture that did come to mind was in Romans 1 where it speaks of God “giving over” people -a sort of abandonment because they had gone so far down a sinful road having known God but continuing to think in a futile way.

  4. Good article. Unfortunately many false teachers who have a form of God without the power behind it abound today. Many preacher doing everything (Healing, Casting out demons, ect. in the name of Jesus) all except baptism. These same are found in Matthew 7:21-23 saying Lord, Lord, (Jesus is Lord of all, Acts 10:36) Did we not do many wondeful works in thy name….Yet they were not baptized in his name as commanded by Peter and the 120 diciples along with Paul. See Acts 2:38 through 22:16. So, are you a person of God or tradition. You words will justify or condemn you. You acts or deeds must all be in Jesus name to be acceptable in the sight of God. Colossians 3:17, Acts 4:12, 1 Cor. 1:24, and Matthew 28:18, among many. Time is short and if we are to be saved it must be God’s way. see John 14:6. Jesus is the ONLY WAY TO GOD. Ezekiel 33. As a watchman I warn you to please follow God and forget all religions that do not line up with HIS WORD. God bless us all.

Leave a Reply

Holy Spirit Activism

Signs, Wonders, Peace and Justice

We Are 'N'

paul the slave standing proudly for the glory of JESUS CHRIST

Gralefrit Theology

Trying to explicate the inexplicable

Pursuing Truth

Eschatology studies, discussion forum, and more

For the Love of His Truth

A Christian Blog about Fundamental Biblical Facts

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 455 other followers

