27 Comments

Further Bentley insanity…


Rick Hiebert has been checking out the Todd Bentley “webinars” being held at Todd’s website. Rick is a brave person. Though I’ve received ‘invites’ to the “webinars”, so far I’ve not bit the bullet and checked them out.

You’ll find three interesting posts at Bene Diction blog:

Mr. Grady mucks out the barn

Why Rick Joyner may never be frank in public about Todd Bentley

I was about to become a king at Lakeland, says Todd Bentley

Quote

I might add more on his webinar in the comments below, but there is one thing that he says that sets off an alarm that I feel that I need to cite. It fails my smell test.

It comes after Bentley has been talking about David at length. David didn’t look like the “best” person for God to use, Bentley points out, but God did nevertheless. Gradually, David grew in his anointing, i.e., his sphere of influence and power. When David became King of all Israel, Bentley argues, he came into his “third anointing” and all the promise of the day that he had been anointed by the prophet Samuel had been fulfilled.

Some of his listeners, Todd says at the end of the 64th minute of his webinar, are about to come into their “third anointing” this year.

Starting at 64:26, Bentley says:

”Everything changes when the kingly anointing comes. When the kingly anointing comes on you life, that’s when you begin to reign–”he [David] began to reign at 30″…and then all of a sudden the third anointing comes, the kingly anointing….when you come into you third anointing, that’s when you begin to reign. I’m telling you what I touched in Lakeland, what I touched two years ago, what I touched five years ago, it was just on my way to third anointing, it was on my way to kingship, and I’m saying, My God, I haven’t even began…. ”

We have Bentley proclaiming, with raised voice and flailing of arms that he is to be a king, with incredible amounts of authority and power. He has not yet begun to operate in the levels of mischief, er, anointing that he plans to.

This isn’t the humility of a humbled man. This is pride, if not hubris.

If I had the flawed record of Bentley, I would hestitate in wanting to be a king. I would just try to not be in the King of King’s way as I served Him.

Some of Bentley’s critics feared that the evangelist was flirting with the Manifest Sons of God heresy. Would this fit? I fear it does.

Scary. Really scary, I would say.

Yes Rick, I agree its scary. This guy is totally deluded to even think he was on his way to a “Kingly anointing” (which by the way there is no such thing) in Lakeland. Was he on his way while drunk or cheating on his wife? It won’t surprise me if at some point he claims all the lies, drinking, cheating, etc were part of his journey to this fictitious anointing!

27 comments on “Further Bentley insanity…

  1. These remarks from Todd about wanting to be a king remind me of the June 23rd service at Lakeland last year when he was commissioned by Sir Knight Peter Wagner and his gang. Todd preached out of Psalm 2 that night, and if I remember correctly he declared that he was the king set on the holy hill (verse 6; a reference, of course, that properly belongs to Jesus). If he didn’t say it explicitly, it was strongly implied.

    The crowd was also told that they would take “whole nations” as their inheritance, and that they were able to step into this reality because of the unveiling of the apostles, apostolic alignment, and true government. The “worship team” then broke into a song/chant about taking whole nations. That was one creepy service.

    It seems Todd has had this kingly ambition for some time.

    The “third anointing”? What in the world were the first two “anointings”? I’ll settle for the anointing John spoke of in his epistle, the one which belongs to all true believers (I John 2:18-27).

    • Todd preached out of Psalm 2 that night, and if I remember correctly he declared that he was the king set on the holy hill…The crowd was also told that they would take “whole nations” as their inheritancel

      Really? “so that he takes his seat in the temple of God, proclaiming himself to be God. ” Sounds like Todd is an echo or intimation of the man of sin. The one? No.

      That was one creepy service.

      I’ll bet.

    • Adam i watched that episode the night it happened on GodTV. Afterward, i couldn’t wait to post my thoughts on it…it was bizarre, weird, and down-right spooky.

      It seems Todd has had this kingly ambition for some time.

      Yes i believe you’re right. And the bozos in the NAR have encouraged the delusion.

      By the way, wasn’t it you who mentioned Jack Deere recently? I saw that Rick also brought his name up in the post, Why Rick Joyner may never be frank in public about Todd Bentley

    • Yes, I did mention Jack Deere recently, wondering why he never appeared or spoke publicly regarding Todd’s “restoration” process as promised. It’s good to see that Rick Hiebert highlighted this very fact in his recent article.

      PJ, I located the post where you expressed your thoughts very soon after the commissioning service:

      http://pjmiller.wordpress.com/2008/06/25/todd-bentley-commissioned-at-%E2%80%98lakeland-outpouring%E2%80%99/

      At the time, you also picked up on the fact that Todd attributed Psalm 2 to himself. In that post you said (after quoting Psalm 2:6-8),

      “This is about Christ–I hope you know that. Apparently Todd does not for he attributed these verses to himself and the ‘Kingly Anointing’ upon the false prophets there on the stage with him. He said, ‘I’m not just reading these verses, I’m making a decree…a Prophetic decree’… He also compared what was getting ready to occur–his ‘commission’ to the greatest thing to occur in the Church since the Jerusalem Council… He said he ‘felt’ two anointings were to be imparted that night…the only one I recall hearing about though was the ‘Kingly anointing’. He said it was coming with a big KA-BOOM-KA-BOOM-KA-BOOM! (repeated about 5-6 times as he looked into the camara).”

      Yeah, I found that part of the service highly disturbing. I remember that my head was reeling as I watched it. I actually still have that entire commissioning service on file. I have to admit…I downloaded it from a torrent site a few days after it aired. Maybe one day when I’m not too busy I’ll watch the whole thing again. I know, I must be a glutton for punishment…

  2. Rick has covered Bentley and the NAR scene in Canada for 8 years, and exceptionally well.

    If he finds the direction Bentley and his buddies are going chilling and as a solid bibilically based charismatic, it is wish we take heed.

    NAR needs the money and people Bentley brings in.
    He’ll be given what he wants.

    • NAR needs the money and people Bentley brings in.
      He’ll be given what he wants.

      That’s the bottom line isn’t it Bene, money. At least for the NAR. They need money coming in to support their branching out into politics.

  3. Looks like Bene Diction blog is not allowing comments but the piece about Lee Grady really gets my blood boiling

    Lee Grady is a hypocrite of the worst sort. He derives his income from an organization that promotes and profits from charlatans and thieves like Bentley and then he wants to be seen as courageous for questioning them. I’m not buying it.

    Contrary to the assertion above Mr. Grady’s first mention of Bentley and Lakeland was a glowing endorsement. That column seems to be no longer available on the Charisma website but I did find it here

    A Holy Ghost Outbreak in Florida

    http://opentheword.org/index2.php?option=com_content&do_pdf=1&id=930

    Grady did the same thing with the Brownsville abomination, initially endorsing it as a wonderful move of God, eventually asking questions when the whole thing fell apart.

    Most recently Grady has been touting a false African revival based on the prosperity gospel
    When African Preachers Lie and The Western Church Believes Them

    http://www.yesumulungi.com/index.php/commentaries/380-when-african-preachers-lie-and-the-western-church-believes-them.html

    So Grady lost a few friends over hist stance on Bentley? Many of us have been out here for years warning of these abominations from the beginning and have lost a lot more than a few friends. Some have lost jobs, church associations, and family members because of their stand for the truth.

    Grady has no discernment and even less credibility. My prayer is that one day God will open his eyes so that he will resign his cushy position with Charisma and understand what it means to come out from among them and touch not the unclean thing.

    • Steve, Lee Grady is someone i have a difficult time figuring out. He can post a good biblicaly sound commentary one week, and turn around next time and post nonsense.

      Lee Grady is a hypocrite of the worst sort. He derives his income from an organization that promotes and profits from charlatans and thieves like Bentley and then he wants to be seen as courageous for questioning them.

      His continued association with Charisma’s Steve Strang, who is closely associated with the NAR crowd, has always left me baffled.

      My prayer is that one day God will open his eyes so that he will resign his cushy position with Charisma and understand what it means to come out from among them and touch not the unclean thing.

      amen.

      Most recently Grady has been touting a false African revival based on the prosperity gospel

      I read this too along with Kato Mivule’s commentary on the topic. Kato’s insight was a real eye-opener.

  4. Considering how Bentley hasn’t the slightest understanding of Scripture, it’s no wonder he fails to understand the lessons contained in the narrative about David.

    Good grief – how sad that so many follow.

    • how sad that so many follow.

      Manfred, i thought about that during Lakeland…how so many people could continue following him when he taught such blatant lies and heresies. Who could ever forget Emma the “Angel” or his screaming out “we must believe in “THE” angel”

      or this:

  5. Well of course Bentley has an “anointing”. It’s quite clear that his affair is merely following in line with the path David took when he committed adultery with Bathsheba . Goodness! Don’t you guys read your Bibles. :)

    Bentley may have been afflicted with the Herod syndrome (hardened heart).

    On a serious note, as much as I detest what he’s doing, I am reminded that we all do still need to pray that Bentley will repent and trust in Christ for the forgiveness of his sins.

    Grace and peace be with you.

    • Yep, he has an anointing all-right. It’s what i heard an old preacher refer to years ago as an ‘unholy anointing’. ;-)

      On a serious note, as much as I detest what he’s doing, I am reminded that we all do still need to pray that Bentley will repent and trust in Christ for the forgiveness of his sins.

      Christopher, i think therein lies the problem. Todd appears to honestly believe he is fine. And that’s deception.

      To repent you must be aware of your need to repent. I don’t think he does…

      There is no one more difficult to get through to, then a person who is self-deceived and who honestly believes they are walking with the Lord. The deception itself keeps the person from recognizing they ARE deceived! That sounds like double-talk, but its true. In Todd’s case i think unclean spirits have reinforced his belief in the lies he teaches. They are also using Todd’s enablers to do this also.

      I haven’t done it recently, but for months during and after Lakeland i was praying God would remove him from those around him who were enabling him for their own agenda. I still hope it will happen..

  6. Thanks very much for the mention, PJ, and for the kind words BD!

    I’m used to Bentley’s rhetorical style and such…but his recent statements seem like hubris to me.

    Christopher–don’t know if you know this, but in a recent Joyner restoration video with Jessa and Todd they used the David and Bathsheba story as thier text for discussion, drew lessons from it, etc. . You may be more right than you think! :)

  7. Hi Steve:

    Bene Diction Blogs On allows comments.:^)

    You are most welcome.

    If you are a first time commenter you wind up in the mod cue, I’ll get to you, not to worry.
    Occasionally even I wind up in the mod cue because the filter is triggered by certain words and links.

    Happy to see what you have to say.
    I’m sorry you got frustrated, it’s an honour for me to have Rick post at BDBO and I hate to see good discussion lost because of technical presets.

  8. Two days ago I had a dream where I was walking in a park. I saw a small amount of people (perhaps 6 or so) gathered infront of a man who was preaching. Next to the man, who’s back was to me, there was a stall on wheels – a cart of sorts. The cart was under a makeshift tent covering and I took a closer look to see what this man was selling.

    As I looked at a collection of books, tapes and CD’s I recognised from the voice of the man preaching (and the mannerisms) that it was none other than Todd Bentley, who by now was quite animated. He was waving his arms about as if trying to appeal to his listeners.

    I came around to the front of him and he was now sat on a chair reading his testimony from a scrap of paper. He kept getting his words mixed up and seemed confused as to what his testimony really was. This happened once too often and he got angry with himself and swore – heavily. At this, a woman who I knew belonged to God (and had listened patiently up to this point) shook her head and dismissed him with a tut. As she walked away so did the others. I then woke up.

    Throughout the Lakeland debacle and the subsequent 15 months, I never once dreamt of Todd. Given that he had such a profound effect on my life – I had to leave the only church I had known – it is strange that I should dream of him now.

    I haven’t been able to shake this dream off (or the attendant peace when I ponder upon the content) – which leads me to believe that God has spoken to me through it. When I saw your post this evening (and knowing the horror some will be experiencing as Todd’s strides towards full-time ministry gain momentum), I felt compelled to share.

  9. This man is satanic. That is my position

  10. That dream is interesting…but I think that Bentley will always be able to find some audience as long as he is seen as having “power”. He might trundle around at little churches, but I think that the game plan is for him to be around at the next “big revival”.

    Your dream might perhaps it might be prophetic…it is very interesting at any rate. Thanks for sharing.

    (As someone who has caught him lying about his past…well, perhaps in the future, he may need crib notes. :) )

  11. >The “third anointing”? What in the world were the first two “anointings”?

    On 0/8/08 At Morningstar Bentley spoke of the 4 stages or floor of anointing. “You know I saw a progression, (in) this anointing.” He goes on to say “We’ve only begin to hit the third floor.”

    The full transcript is at

    http://beyondgrace.blogspot.com/2009/11/manifested-bentley-part-2.html

    >Really? “so that he takes his seat in the temple of God, proclaiming himself to be God.

    Interestingly enough, his Twitter account is IAM Todd Bentley.

    According to the transcript referenced above, god-status will be reached at stage four.

    • Beyondgrace,

      Thanks for reminding us of Bentley’s “4-stage anointing” teaching at MorningStar on August 8th last year. I had forgotten about that. Looking over the transcript you provided, I just noticed that he had the gall to say, “And we are pressing in for that Romans 1:4 anointing.” As you noted, he’s aiming for divinity. Romans 1:4 reads,

      “…and [Jesus] was declared to be the Son of God in power according to the Spirit of holiness by His resurrection from the dead, Jesus Christ our Lord…”

      If Todd isn’t wanting to be on equal terms with Jesus as a fellow “Son of God,” what else could he mean by pressing in for “that Romans 1:4 anointing”?

  12. >> his twitter account is I AM Todd Bentley <<

    Wow, these comments have aroused two thoughts in my head:

    The first was the awful memory of THAT 'prophesy' that declared "JESUS STOOD UP OFF HIS THRONE, TOOK OFF HIS RING, and BOWED DOWN TO US"……………..

    and the following thought was: (dare I say it?)……………

    The antichrist will say 'I AM'……………….

    This sort of talk is nothing short of 'full blown' blasphemy.

  13. I would just add to the above post that JESUS ALSO TOOK OF HIS CROWN AND LAID IT ON THE ARM OF HIS THRONE (in that same ‘prophesy’ last June by Rob Deluca at Lakeland)…….. WOW!

    • JESUS ALSO TOOK OF HIS CROWN AND LAID IT ON THE ARM OF HIS THRONE

      I seem to recall that bit of nonsensical heresy.

      Where DO these folks come up with this stuff!?!

  14. This manifest sons of God stuff really is over the top. t I can’t grasp how anyone could take these folks seriously. Jesus stood up from his throne, took off his ring, his robe, laid his crown on the arm of his throne and bowed to them?!? I don’t think so!! Sounds to me like they not only think they will be equal with God but actually be ABOVE Jesus Himself.

  15. Cheryl,

    It IS over the top. And it’s not just Todd- a recent issue of Charisma had Peter Wagner talking about his dominionist eschatology saying pretty much the same thing.

  16. They have spiralled off into another belief system in order to keep the audience happy and keep the cash coming in.

    We are, in their belief systems, supposed to pay for our salvation it reminds me of the greeks who ‘had to pay the ferry man’ to get them over to the ‘other side’.

    Todd Bentley is in marketing!

    Mr Joyner looking for a hand out.

    Jesus is looking for a home.

  17. Knowledge is a powerful thing. To attain it you first must lay down mans and his perceptions of it. Healing is a multi faceted knowledge that in mans limitations is held in such a place. Todds desire to ‘teach healing’ is a sham. You either can or you can’t. The medical professions slow progress with ‘cures’ is due in part to mans inability to handle what the Father really wants to gift him. Power to heal.

    Power in the wrong hands is an unexploded bomb, a reason for, a demand of, a horror in the making, Mans power leads him, for the most part, as it is, to give him more than he could handle would what, tip the balance of: Todds need of power is what scares me. The annointing he seeks, would give him power, the ‘power’ he seeks would give him power and so on, his position in all powers would give him all power and thats why we are still really at base level when it comes to ‘ what man calls miracles and signs and wonders’. When the Fathers seeks an empty vessel he means just that, empty. No sign of arrogance, no sign of need, no sign of poverty, no sign of hubris’s, no sign of power, no sign of money talking and so on. If you are prepared to be emptied then he will honour that with his love which is power. Love never fails man and his need does. Todds desires are just that desire and we have all been there at some point have we not, Once we get through those desires we can take on his. His power doesn’t corrupt mans does.

Leave a Reply

Holy Spirit Activism

Signs, Wonders, Peace and Justice

We Are 'N'

paul the slave standing proudly for the glory of JESUS CHRIST

Gralefrit Theology

Trying to explicate the inexplicable

Pursuing Truth

Eschatology studies, discussion forum, and more

For the Love of His Truth

A Christian Blog about Fundamental Biblical Facts

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 455 other followers

