15 Comments

Thankful


Now faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen. Hebrews 11:1

In recent days this verse has been on my lips many times a day. Today, I’m so very thankful to be sitting up at my computer and able to check in at the blog, and it is for the reason of this faith I am able to do so.

It’s hard to hold on to faith year after year in the midst of chronic illness, but somehow God continues to feed my faith and keep it alive. But more importantly it is His faithfulness and love bestowed upon me, just one of His flock, which continues to amaze me.

Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed,
for his compassions never fail.
They are new every morning;
great is your faithfulness.
I say to myself, “The Lord is my portion;
therefore I will wait for him.”

This latest flair-up has been an especially rough folks, but God is bringing me through it. There is no way to express the gratitude and love I feel for my Lord and Savior today, for His tender care, compassion, and faithfulness.

I’m just thankful

I’m still weak so please forgive me if I don’t reply to your comments right now. With God continuing to strengthen me I hope to get back to posting soon.

15 comments on “Thankful

  1. My prayers are with you my dear friend. God will strengthen you as you need. Remember the great words of Paul, when you are weak, He is strong. Glory in your weakness for in it, those around you will see the strength of God.

    • Thank you Paul. Amen. He certainly is our strength in times of weakness. If i’ve learned anything the past years it is that.

      Words cannot express the gratitude i have for His strength….and thankfulness for the body of Christ.

    • Hi PJ, hope this encourages you…

      The Bread of Adversity

      “Although the Lord gives you the bread of adversity and the water of affliction, your teacher will be hidden no more; with your own eyes you will see them.”

      Isaiah 30:20

      God wants to refine you. Your trial is refining. He will be true to Isaiah 48:10, “See, I have refined you, though not as silver; I have tested you in the furnace of affliction.” Your God is a consuming fire and He sits as the Refiner purging every impurity from your life. Your response? Agree with Job that “When he has tested me, I will come forth as gold.”

      God wants to sift you. Your trial is a sifting. You are God’s grain, planted by Him and to be gathered by His hand. You are coarse and rough grain and must pass through several processes of sifting. Each sieve is finer, “However, it produces a harvest of righteousness and peace.” (Hebrews 12:11)

      God wants to prune you. Your trial is a pruning. “Every branch that does bear fruit he prunes clean so that it will be even more fruitful.” (John 15:2) The pruning process hurts, but God is a careful gardener, and He prunes you with great skill and love.

      God wants to polish you. Your trial is a polishing. You are a living stone to be carved just as it says in Psalm 144:12, “Our daughters will be like pillars carved to adorn a palace.” God wants to chisel away your rough edges.

      ______________________________________

      Refining. Sifting. Pruning. Polishing. God gives you the bread of adversity and the water of affliction for good reasons. With God’s Word as your teacher, your own eyes can see the purpose of the Lord.

      Just like Your Word says, no trial seems pleasant, Lord. But I thank You that Your purposes are wise and wonderful.

      Taken from Diamonds in the Dust. Copyright © 1993 by Joni Eareckson Tada.

    • Paul, thank you for sharing these wise words of encouragement. And they WERE encouraging!

      Yes i believe even illnesses can be used by God to refine, prune, and sift us. They are also a constant reminder of our total dependance upon the Lord.

  2. What a tremendous example of faith you are Pj. May you remain steadfast as you lean on those wonderful everlasting arms. I cannot imagine what it’s like to not know Him who is able to keep us from falling…..be blessed dear sister.

    • Thought so much about you this last week Sylvia. And the letter i had written you. This latest episode (i believe) was an attack for the purpose of trying to cause doubt to arise in my heart. I know God did something for me that night. Not even this latest flair-up will rob me of that truth.

      Thank you for hanging with me sister…. your prayers continue to help me so much. I know it.

  3. I don’t know of anything harder to walk through than physical weakness. I thought of this article this morning, and thought you might be encouraged by it. May your hand ‘cleave to the sword’, and cleave to the *word*. Don’t grow weary!

    http://www.ctlibrary.com/ch/1991/issue29/2922.html

    • Thank you so much Haley.

      I emailed this message about Spurgeon to myself to read later this evening. I had to stop reading, for now, at this,

      In the sermon, entitled “The Christian’s Heaviness and Rejoicing,” Spurgeon said that during his illness, when “my spirits were sunken so low that I could weep by the hour like a child, and yet I knew not what I wept for … a kind friend was telling me of some poor old soul living near, who was suffering very great pain, and yet she was full of joy and rejoicing. I was so distressed by the hearing of that story, and felt so ashamed of myself.… ”

      For i understand it too well.

      Part of having a chronic illness (which we know is never going away, bar a miracle) for a Christian, is the shame and sense of failure which accompanies it. A feeling of one failing God when in such a weakened condition as Spurgeon describes. It can be at times as difficult to endure, or worse, then the illness itself.

      Again, thank you and God bless you for sharing this link. There was an inner witness telling me i need to read it. And i will.

  4. PJ, as I read your thanksgiving these Words came to me for you to be reminded again “Who is faithful”:::>

    Psa 31:1 To the choirmaster. A Psalm of David. In you, O LORD, do I take refuge; let me never be put to shame; in your righteousness deliver me!
    Psa 31:2 Incline your ear to me; rescue me speedily! Be a rock of refuge for me, a strong fortress to save me!
    Psa 31:3 For you are my rock and my fortress; and for your name’s sake you lead me and guide me;
    Psa 31:4 you take me out of the net they have hidden for me, for you are my refuge.
    Psa 31:5 Into your hand I commit my spirit; you have redeemed me, O LORD, faithful God.

    Our Lord, is the “faithful God”!

    • Michael, God bless you. Thank you for sharing God’s Word. Yes, our Lord is the Faithful God!

  5. I cannot… seriously cannot convince myself that any strength given to me to continue to help others comes from me. Maybe it is a good thing God has my mind in what others may call a ‘back door’ approach. Being with someone in need, even needy I am drawn into a world where everything else is shut out, and the only three persons there are: me, the client, and Jesus.

    I am not suppose to speak of what I believe while working with needy clients/elderly; yet God and His word is much more of importance than the loss of my Job. These clients deal with weaknesses and pain daily. Some are silent and others are quite verbal; yet the only Good I can give to them is Jesus. These days I am understanding that it doesn’t take Great Faith… it only takes a tiny seed of Faith… a very small glimmer of Hope. The sky doesn’t have to roll back, and the thunder doesn’t have to sound; yet that speck in the sky is somewhat visible… and through the weakness and through the tears I believe God Hears, God Sees, God Knows, and He is nearer still.

    It won’t matter, and doesn’t matter who believes the miracles to which God does daily in the Elder’s life…for them… like you PJ… to be a witness for Him… His Faithfulness… to His own Glory.

    Praise the Lord Above for your testimony and praise today. This made me giggle. Luv 2 U, oxysmoron

    • Hi oxy…

      Yes, a tiny seed of faith. Sometimes this is all we have, but it is enough.

      Been thinking about the vision you had of a bridge years ago. Do you recall telling me about it? For whatever reason the Spirit brought it to my mind recently. I can’t see the end of it H…the other side. But i know it’s there. And i know if i keep hold of Jesus’ hand i will one day reach the other side, finally stepping off that bridge into the glorious light of freedom.

      Happy to hear of God continuing to use you with the clients He sends your way. Looking back to when we first met, would you have ever thought this was how God would use you? :-)
      It’s wonderfully “funny” how things work out, isn’t it. God has a plan for each of us, one we can’t always see. In fact most times we can’t see it at all!

      It was good to hear from you. Miss and love you..

Leave a Reply

Holy Spirit Activism

Signs, Wonders, Peace and Justice

We Are 'N'

paul the slave standing proudly for the glory of JESUS CHRIST

Gralefrit Theology

Trying to explicate the inexplicable

Pursuing Truth

Eschatology studies, discussion forum, and more

For the Love of His Truth

A Christian Blog about Fundamental Biblical Facts

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 455 other followers

