5 Comments

Word’s from the Wilderness


Like many people who get the bright idea to start a blog, I sat here pondering this morning on what to write as my first post.

As I’m sure not an ‘author’ nor am I very prolific with words, I began to seriously question WHY exactly did I want to do this in the first place!

I prayed.

What finally dawned on me was it doesn’t matter if talent is lacking in the writing department, or if no one ever reads one word ever placed on this page–

Its done for God’s Glory alone… “Sola Dei Gloria”

IF by chance or Divine intervention, one were to come across this blog, what they will find are the pondering’s of one ‘on the path’ and in still in the race.

And one who understands the difficulties which most Christians today, are having in sorting through the obvious apostasy which, being fore-told, has ‘arrived’…and of the difficulty of the last leg of this spiritual journey we are on.

Many of us are growing weary; Its understandable in todays increasing spiritual darkness, to grow tired of the battles, as we struggle to hold tightly to Jesus. (No worry though…for He has us firmly in His Hands)

Still others have been led kicking and screaming into the wilderness or back-side of the Desert. If like myself, you’ve learned to live off the daily Manna alone, not worrying about tomorrow’s supply, but are content only with today’s.

I’d like to say my own personal desert or wilderness excursion has been short and sweet…sorry can’t say that. Many day’s still, I question if any fruit at all is being produced through this slow tedious trek; Or if I’ve ‘died enough’ and if Jesus is being formed in me? Those day’s are bad…I admit it.

But what I can say is, I don’t question the ‘why’s of the trip any more, so that’s a plus in itself. Trust has become the word I live by.

One other thing I’ve learned during this 2 year wandering, there are beautiful things to be found in the desert, even in the wilderness! You just have to keep your eyes open, to see them

So, as this is my first post…it will be short and sweet…

Remember, God is in the desert and wilderness too…He hasn’t forgotten nor forsaken those I refer to as “wilderness wanderers”

God Bless….

5 comments on “Word’s from the Wilderness

  1. Dearest Sister,

    First I love your site here, it is serene. Quiet.

    I too have been in the wilderness. I am perhaps one of those dragged kicking and screaming. Perhaps my wilderness is different than yours. We have both been through the Genesis part of our walk- the personal revelation of the complete inadequacy man has apart from God and our complete dependence on Him for everything.

    We have both been through the first part of Exodous. Being delivered from Egypt which is of course a symbol of the world of men and the life of Adam. We have both come to the red sea and faced with the choice to go through death with Christ or to remain in Egypt. We have both crossed over and the waters have come down forever separating the world from us.

    We have both been to Sinai where the Law is given. Lev 20:26 And ye shall be holy unto me: for I the LORD am holy, and have severed you from other people, that ye should be mine.

    We have seen the tabernacle, God’s provision of grace from the Law and how each of us has the outer court (body) the holy place (soul) and the holy of holies (spirit) where God resides.

    I think that we have both come to the land of Canaan which represents the believer’s life in freedom and plenty. And I believe for whatever reasons we weren’t ready to go in.

    And so the wilderness.

    For my part, I too have been fed on manna, a type of the Holy Spirit, but we were never meant to be fed by manna. We were meant to go into Canaan a land overflowing with milk and honey and abundance. The Lord has shown me that I am the grumbling complainer and that for the last 18 months, I have been longing to go back to Egypt:

    Num 11:4 And the mixed multitude that was among them fell a lusting: and the children of Israel also wept again, and said, Who shall give us flesh to eat?
    Num 11:5 We remember the fish, which we did eat in Egypt freely; the cucumbers, and the melons, and the leeks, and the onions, and the garlic:
    Num 11:6 But now our soul is dried away: there is nothing at all, beside this manna, before our eyes.

    Yes, truly this is the very thing I have done. I preferred leeks, onions, and garlic to milk and honey and grapes that take two men to carry.

    And miraculously and by the very Grace of God I have been fed manna. But again, manna was meant only to sustain long enough to cross the Jordan into the land of plenty. It was not meant to fill us and satisfy us.

    God is waiting for us dear sister. To cross the Jordan. To enter the promised land. And though there be giants we have the Lord to fight for us. The first thing I expect to come to after crossing the Jordan is Jericho. And I must do the same thing the Israelites did, circumsize, passover, and plan the strategy for the fall of Jericho… but notice that God sent an angel who told Joshua I am for neither but the victory is yours.

    Crossing the Jordan is the same as crossing the red sea. We as priests, step into the water and the water will recede, it is our death in Christ and His death that the rocks represent. Just as we left Egypt behind so too now we leave the wilderness behind.

    The wilderness is a sign of defeat. The Israelites were defeated by the report of the spies and only two were left to enter the land. The years of wandering were years of defeat, grumbling, and burying the dead.

    Joshua sent two spies to Jericho (I think he learned the lesson from Moses lol) and they asked Rahab the feel of the town. She said their hearts fail them and the strength have gone out of them because they had heard about Egypt and the crossing of the Red sea. This happened 40 years prior. Jericho was a defeated enemy for 40 years.

    Even before the events of 18 months ago, I was in the wilderness, just in a different way, I’m ready to go step into the Jordan. The Jordan means death yet again, but on the other side is the promised land, the rebirth. The land flowing with milk and honey and abundance in the things of the Spirit.

    I can only go the way I went through the Red sea, by faith and faith alone that He has already accomplished this in my life and I step into the water.

    Would you care to walk up to the Jordan with me?

    I love you sister!

    James

  2. Hi James! what a wonderful surprise to see your posted comment!

    Thank you so much for the great post; your post is filled with wisdom, like always James.

    Yes the wilderness is a place of death…for us, a place to say good-bye to self. Strange how that old man holds on to life, isn’t it.🙂

    I hope you’ll drop by again James. This is my little journal …a place to just write out my thoughts and such, during this journey. As im sure you’ve already seen, i have good days and ‘not so good’ …and a few down-right rotten days as well, when i can see no purpose in this trek through the desert. But praise be to Jesus, he always reminds me of the ultimate goal…which is in my dying to self, more of him will be seen in me.

    That makes it all worth while James.

    love you little brother…

  3. For no ‘apparent’ reason I searched for this, your very first post this morning pj. Here you are almost four years, and more than one and a half million hits later, and I received a wonderful blessing in reading how your blog was birthed.

    Certainly spiritually dark days HAVE increased, even since this was written, and we will continue to see it so, more and more as we, that know and love Him, eagerly await His return,

    Despite the trials, wildernesses and regular bouts of rotten health, you have been utterly faithful in your assortment of posts containing discernment, warnings and ENCOURAGEMENTS.

    May you continue to blog for a long time to come, with your Godly, inspired and balanced threads. You are loved and appreciated dear sister Jaunita.

    “Lord Jesus, thank you so much for ‘Sola Dei Gloria’. Please bless and keep our dear sister in perfect peace, and we give you ALL the Glory Amen”.

    • You know Syl, i was just thinking yesterday how it will soon be 4 years since starting up the blog. Time has sure flown.

      Remembering back, the primary reason was to have a place in which to look at some of the more controversial issues and/or questions, we as Christians have. At the time i had just come from a season where i had worked on 3 forums for 5 years (2 of them concentrated mostly on prophecy) as a moderator. And ‘girl’, by then i was spiritually tired and had questions! ahahaha

      Frankly, i found i was no longer in agreement with many of the dispensational teachings, and when questioning them openly (i was truly looking for answers) got the impression folks thought i’d went off the reservation.🙂

      Certainly spiritually dark days HAVE increased, even since this was written, and we will continue to see it so, more and more as we, that know and love Him, eagerly await His return

      Amen. And you are right, dark days have increased (even more) since this blog began. Satan is truly attempting to wear out the saints.

      What keeps me going in this earthly race, and on some days just hanging on, are the sentiments voiced by Peter when Jesus asked,

      Then said Jesus unto the twelve, Will ye also go away?

      Then Simon Peter answered him, Lord, to whom shall we go? thou hast the words of eternal life. And we believe and are sure that thou art that Christ, the Son of the living God. (john 6)

      Where would i (or you) go Syl? Back to the life we lived before Christ?

      Never!! It holds only emptiness and eternal death.

      Dear sister thank you for pulling up this post. I needed to read it again. And God bless you for ALWAYS being such a great encouragement to me personally.

  4. NEVER….indeed pj. That question (john 6) from Jesus “Will you also go away?” sends a shiver down my spine. Our answer will ever be “Lord ,to whom shall we go? THOU hast the words of eternal life, and we believe and are SURE that thou art that Christ, the Son of the Living God.” Amen, Amen & Amen!

Leave a Reply

Rooted and Grounded In Christ

Teaching Sound Doctrine & Glorifying Christ

Music from Broken Chords

Down in the human heart, crush'd by the tempter, Feelings lie buried that grace can restore; Touched by a loving heart, wakened by kindness Chords that were broken will vibrate once more. From the Hymn "Rescue the Perishing" by Fanny J. Crosby

Lead Me

"Evil men do not understand justice, but those who seek the LORD understand it fully."

I Was a Teenage Dispensationalist

It's the end (of the end) of the world as we know it...

Disrupting Culture

A blog by Dr. Jonathan Welton

