19 Comments

Pat Robertson: Divorce Your Wife With Alzheimers


“The Pharisees also came to Him, testing Him, and saying to Him, ‘Is it lawful for a man to divorce his wife for just any reason?’ And He answered and said to them, ‘Have you not read that He who made them at the beginning “made them male and female,” and said, “For this reason a man shall leave his father and mother and be joined to his wife, and the two shall become one flesh”? So then, they are no longer two but one flesh. Therefore what God has joined together, let not man separate.’ They said to Him, ‘Why then did Moses command to give a certificate of divorce, and to put her away?’ He said to them, ‘Moses, because of the hardness of your hearts, permitted you to divorce your wives, but from the beginning it was not so. And I say to you, whoever divorces his wife, except for sexual immorality, and marries another, commits adultery; and whoever marries her who is divorced commits adultery'” (Mat. 19:3-9)

19 comments on “Pat Robertson: Divorce Your Wife With Alzheimers

  1. Wow, I shutter thinking about the times as a young ignorant Christian listening to and believing some of what he taught way back when!

  2. I wonder if he would extend his advice to other family relationships. My mum has memory loss and is in a care home. I visit her and last time we sang a couple of old hymns together, looked at old photos and I read her a poem. Did she enjoy the “moment” – yes. Will she remember – no – will I remember – yes – should I “divorce” her and not visit just because she won’t remember – definitely not!! I feel blessed when I visit btw.

  3. This is the same guy who’s been clamoring about the Defense of Marriage Act.😦

    Jan, im sorry to hear about your mum… my family went through similar circumstances with my dad. He had Alzheimers.

    When listening to Robertson i couldn’t help but think about my mom. She took care of dad at home (he passed away at home) and the idea that she would have ever considered divorcing dad is outrageous. They were as one person… and her commitment to caring for him was something she never questioned.

    Robertson has lost it if he believes it’s ok with God for a spouse to abandon a dying wife and/or husband.

    Michael, i know what you mean. Back in 1980 i was an avid watcher of the 700 club. And i can honestly say God used the program to help draw me to Christ. When it was apparent the ministry of Robertson drastically changed from lifting up Jesus to Christian activism, i stopped watching it all-together.

    No, i can’t imagine what a young Christian who watches him today would think about this latest crazy statement.

    Sad.

    • Just another great example of selective morality. Beat the gays over the head with scriptures accusing them of “destroying” the institution of marriage and then hold friends to a completely different standard. The reality is that the “church” has done far more over the last few decades to “destroy” marriage than the gays could ever hope to achieve. I am not suggesting that we should beat divorcees over the head with the scriptures either, but I find it extremely disturbing that so many churches have gone so far to try to “accommodate” them in their preaching. Preaching should be of the kind that convicts hearts of sin, whether the sin in question be homosexuality OR divorce. Instead certain “accepted” sins have received special treatment with rare references to passages that condemn them ALWAYS accompanied by an attempt to explain away the seriousness of the sin. Its just disgusting and it has played a major role in bringing us all to where we are today.

  4. Twisting the word of God is not only sinful, but demonic. People with living Alzheimers disease are not dead but still living. Pastor Robertson’s advice is not biblical, you want him to divorce his wife when she needs him the most. Thank God when we are forsaken, the LORD takes us up. Psalm 27:10 & Isaiah 49:15

    • Amen David. They are still alive. There are doctors who will tell you no one is sure how much they continue to comprehend, even after their ability to react or speak is gone. Until he took his last breath we talked to my dad as though he heard and understood us.

    • He may have a degree, but Pat Robertson is no pastor. A real pastor would not offer such abominable advice.

  5. PJ and Jan, reading your comments reminds me of two instances I want to share now. One has to do with the death of my grandmother. The other has to do with the death of my sister.

    My Grandmother lived the last years of her life in my home. I wasn’t present when she died but what I will share with you about what happened at her death should give Robertson’s message a swift kick in the hunnie end into outer darkness! The last six months of my Grandmother’s life she was had no sound reasoning mind. I recall the very day that she had a mild stroke where her memory went. For six months she really did not know anyone or anything. She had to be cared for, period, for all things. The night she passed, I was out of town. The Lord woke up my wife and nudged her to go in to see my Grandmother. She did. My wife said just a moment before she took her last breath she rolled over, reached out her hand and grabbed my wife’s hand and came to, became very lucid of mind and thought, bright and clear headed, she then smiled and breathed her last!

    I got a phone call from my sister that my other sister did not have long to live. She had been in a coma for some months and was being cared for at a care home. I gathered up my two sons, Hosea and Zadok and took them to see their Aunt. When we arrived, she was in a coma. We prayed for her and I began reading the Bible to her, speaking to her as though she was lucid and could understand every Word. Within a few minutes of reading the Scriptures to her my sister became alert and lucid and that brilliance of the Lord appeared all over her face. She looked at me. She didn’t smile but the look that came over her was one of His Peace and Presence.

    After about an hour’s visit with her, praying, talking to her and reading the Scriptures, we left and within the next hour we got the call!

    Someone should remind Robertson that “Faith”, His Faith, that Faith once delivered to the Saints is the “substance” of things hoped for and the evidence of things “not seen”! Not seen that is until you see one of your loved one’s slip into Eternity with the Glory of the Lord all over their face!

    • Thank you Michael… both are beautiful accounts of God’s love and grace!

      The account of your grandmother especially touched me. My dad was pronounced dead by the doctor (hospice was also there), when after a couple minutes passed, dad opened his eyes. He had not recognized my mom for over a year, but at opening his eyes he scanned the room, until he saw her. At that moment he locked eyes with her and (my mom’s words) “smiled the most beautiful, peaceful smile ” of recognition! His countenance was one of shinning joy!

      Then he closed his eyes and left this world.

      I can’t explain the joy & peace it gave to mom… (or the shock to the doctor! lol)

      I may be wrong but i really believe dad was gone the first time. But God in his love and mercy, after dad caught a glimpse of what awaited him, permitted that brief return for mom’s sake; That moment of clear recognition between the two of them.

  6. YES, God expects us to keep our vows. After all, we vowed our marriage vows TO GOD, not to our mate. And those vows had no contingency clauses, providing for an out. “Till death do us part” means exactly what we said.

    And yes, I speak from experience. My husband left me with our 2 children, which I have raised alone. Even though he got a divorce from me, I count my vows as valid before God. Because Jesus said, “Whosoever putteth away his wife and marrieth another, committeth adultery, and whosoever marrieth her that is put away, committeth adultery.” It would not be adultery, but fornication, if the first marriage were actually dissolved by man’s decree of divorce.

  7. Oh boy I don’t even know what to say. I really should not say much because… I did not know he has stoop this low.

  8. Ironic philosophy about considering someone in this condition as the walking dead and yet believing in healing as well as fighting for the unborn but then advocating divorcing your spouse because they are the walking dead

    weirdness gone to seed

  9. Think about this:… Pat Robertson advised a bitter man to do something out of that bitterness. Jesus said divorce only happens because of hardness of heart. Pat advised someone to act out his sinful heart attitude, instead of repenting from bitterness and hardness of heart.

    May I suggest each of us who feel so led could write a letter to CBN quoting the scriptures which oppose Pat’s advice.

  10. The only good I can see in God allowing these heretics to remain is the worse they become the more chance that some will wake up, as I did when I heard Todd Bentley say” god told me to kick an old lady in the face with my biker boot”, and the crowd loved it. I wanted to be sick when I realized how far from Him I had gone. Sadly, the world already recognizes them (read the youtube comments) while the sheeple frenziedly gobblet poisoned fodder.

  11. Christianity Today has an article about this.

    quote,

    “It’s really hurtful because they say crazy things,” Robertson said. “Nevertheless, it is a terribly difficult thing for somebody. I can’t fault him for wanting some kind of companionship. And if he says in a sense she is gone, he’s right. It’s like a walking death. Get some ethicist besides me to give you an answer because I recognize the dilemma and the last thing I’d do is condemn you for taking that kind of action.”

    Robertson’s advice stands in stark contrast with most theologians and ethicists who would advise fidelity. The decision would not be easy.

    Robertson McQuilkin faced a similar situation two decades ago. He decided to step down and end his 22 year tenure as president of Columbia Bible College and Seminary. Instead, he helped care full-time for his wife Muriel. She died in 2003 after suffering for 25 years with the disease. During the last decade, Muriel could not recognize her husband caregiver.

    In a CT article written after his resignation from Columbia, McQuilkin explained his decision,

    “When the time came, the decision was firm. It took no great calculation. It was a matter of integrity. Had I not promised, 42 years before, ‘in sickness and in health . . . till death do us part’? This was no grim duty to which I stoically resigned, however. It was only fair. She had, after all, cared for me for almost four decades with marvelous devotion; now it was my turn. And such a partner she was! If I took care of her for 40 years, I would never be out of her debt,” McQuilkin wrote.

    In an interview in 2004, McQuilkin said he made the right decision. “Some people sort of resent the imposition, but those thoughts never came to me,” McQuilkin said. “I thought it was a privilege to care for her. She had always cared for me. So it was not a burden. In fact, if it had been a burden, maybe there wouldn’t be so much grief now, that sense of loss.”

    (God bless Mr. McQuilkin)

    * Also see: Pat Robertson Repudiates the Gospel

  12. WOW: …When I watched this video yesterday I cried. When I just read this response from Mr.McQuilkin I cried again. But you know what, yesterday’s tears cut me to the quick while today’s tears fell with unspeakable joy.
    I had a very difficult medical condition for 8 years with drugs that gave me strong side effects rendering me pretty useless. Praise God my condition is now well under control and I am completely normal again, but listening to Pat Robertson brought back the horrendous comments from certain people (yes Christian people) as to how lucky I am to have such a devoted husband who never left me for another woman. My husband was really angry at the time to be honest, and is equally as angry with this appalling video clip.
    ‘Lord please have mercy and turn hearts back to yourself in deep repentance for this claptrap’ is all I can muster right now.

  13. This is a clip of Mr. McQuilkin. Thought someone might want to see/hear it…

  14. Hey PJ-

    I thought your readers might like to know of Joni Eareckson Tada’s quick response to this. I don’t want to put her comments above any of your readers, as we all have insight, but with her background as a quadriplegic, it seems that she has a platform to speak out against what would be a true injustice. Here is the link and perhaps you could post it. After all, we could use some good news too.

    http://www.christianpost.com/news/robertsons-remarks-continue-to-draw-backlash-55743/

    Have fun and stay busy – Luke 19:13

    -The Orange Mailman

    • Thanks Orange!🙂

      She is someone i’ve always admired.

      Tada, a disability advocate and a quadriplegic herself, strongly disagreed. “Alzheimer’s disease is never an ‘accident’ in a marriage,” she said. “It falls under the purview of God’s sovereignty. In the case of someone with Alzheimer’s, this means God’s unconditional and sacrificial love has an opportunity to be even more gloriously displayed in a life together.”

      Beautifully said…

Leave a Reply

Rooted and Grounded In Christ

Teaching Sound Doctrine & Glorifying Christ

Music from Broken Chords

Down in the human heart, crush'd by the tempter, Feelings lie buried that grace can restore; Touched by a loving heart, wakened by kindness Chords that were broken will vibrate once more. From the Hymn "Rescue the Perishing" by Fanny J. Crosby

Lead Me

"Evil men do not understand justice, but those who seek the LORD understand it fully."

I Was a Teenage Dispensationalist

It's the end (of the end) of the world as we know it...

Disrupting Culture

A blog by Dr. Jonathan Welton

