2 Comments

The Good Old Days


Wise words for a new year. 

“Do not say, ‘Why were the former days better than these?’ For you do not inquire wisely concerning this” (Ecclesiastes 7:10).

Were the “nineties” really gay? Were the “twenties” really innocent? Were there any good old days? Don’t ask! It is not wise, For who knoweth what is good for man In this life.

Speak not of gay times, For the heart of the wise is In the house of mourning, But the heart of fools is in the house of mirth.

Speak not of past years of song and dance, For it is better to hear the rebuke of the wise Than for a man to hear the song of fools. Speak not of days of law and order, For there is a time wherein one man ruleth over another To his own hurt. Speak not of days when work was honest, For all the labor of man is for his mouth, And yet his appetite is not satisfied.

This day is ours.

Wherefore I perceive that there is nothing better Than that a man should rejoice in his own works, For that is life’s portion. Who shall bring him to see What shall be after him?

Our day will be envied By those of tomorrow.

(David Wilkerson: May 19, 1931 – April 27, 2011)

Source

Looking forward to the blessed hope and the glorious appearing of our great God and Savior Jesus Christ: Titus 2:13

2 comments on “The Good Old Days

  1. Every day is one day closer to seeing Him. There are not any “good ole days”.

    Those were the days when I did drugs and was pervasively immoral. But in March of 1975 the Spirit led me to Christ and I have never been the same. I am not what I could be, and I am not what I should be, but praise God I am not what I was!!!!

    • Amen Rick. The good ole days for me, are definitely not anything i look back upon with fondness.

      But in March of 1975 the Spirit led me to Christ and I have never been the same.

      Praise God!! For me it was November 2nd 1980! What a morning that was brother…🙂

Leave a Reply

Rooted and Grounded In Christ

Teaching Sound Doctrine & Glorifying Christ

Music from Broken Chords

Down in the human heart, crush'd by the tempter, Feelings lie buried that grace can restore; Touched by a loving heart, wakened by kindness Chords that were broken will vibrate once more. From the Hymn "Rescue the Perishing" by Fanny J. Crosby

Lead Me

"Evil men do not understand justice, but those who seek the LORD understand it fully."

I Was a Teenage Dispensationalist

It's the end (of the end) of the world as we know it...

Disrupting Culture

A blog by Dr. Jonathan Welton

