10 Comments

Eight Ways to Tell That I Might Be a Pharisee


“Woe to you, teachers of the law and Pharisees, you hypocrites! You are like whitewashed tombs, which look beautiful on the outside but on the inside are full of the bones of the dead and everything unclean.  In the same way, on the outside you appear to people as righteous but on the inside you are full of hypocrisy and wickedness” 

From The Christian Post:

I am a recovering Pharisee. I cannot read Matthew 23 without thinking about who I used to be shortly after meeting Jesus. I became obsessed with religious rules and legalism and forgot all about the grace that God had poured out on me through Jesus. As I look back on that time in my life there are eight things that really defined me…

#1 – I was way more obsessed with the sins and shortcomings of others and made it my obsession to point out their faults so that I did not have to deal with my own. (Matthew 23:27-28)

#2 – I made it my goal to catch people doing something wrong and condemn them rather than seeing them with the same eyes that Jesus saw me with, thus causing me to be broken for them and reach out to them with compassion and a genuine concern.

#3 – I would not associate with anyone or any group that did not acknowledge that I was completely correct in my view and interpretation of the Scriptures…and, if they didn’t see just like me I would attack and malign them as often as possible. (Kind of goes against what Jesus said in John 13:34-35) Which leads to…

#4 – I only hung out/associated with people who thought just like me.

#5 – I was known more for what I attacked rather than what I built up.

#6 – I boasted in the knowledge that I possessed and looked down on those whom I perceived did not know as much as me.

#7 – I could not acknowledge anything that the Lord might have been doing that did not fit into my system of the way I believed God should do things.

#8 – I did not mind throwing out false accusations against those whom I felt were not getting it right. (John 8:48-51)

10 comments on “Eight Ways to Tell That I Might Be a Pharisee

  1. Been there…. Oh yes. I’m still fighting that guy.

  2. Reblogged this on The Master's Slave.

  3. I’m wondering if any here would consider me a Pharisee. I voted for the constitutional amendment in North Carolina that establishes marriage as between a man and a woman.

    • Hi Jeremy…

      I really don’t believe the author was referring to how Christians vote.

  4. But what about people who are regulars on this site? What about you? Do you think I am a Pharisee for believing and voting as I did? I hope that people who believe things that are backed by the religious right, voting and believing that way from Biblical understanding, are seen by people here to be true to their faith and not viewed as Pharisees or hypocrites or whatever.

    • Jeremy, i trust if you are a Christian you prayed and voted as you were led. If you did that you have no need to ask for anyone else’s opinion. Amen? Amen.

      I hope that people who believe things that are backed by the religious right…

      Most people who comment here (including myself) do not wear tags such as the “religious right” or the “religious left”, etc. but are simply followers of Christ: Christians.

  5. Hi Jeremy I’m a regular, pop in every day and post comments from time to time. I’m from the UK so, although the issue might be universal, don’t vote for any constitutional amendments and would urge you to remember that God has created the whole world and so what seems terribly important to you has no reference point atall for someone living in another country. I’m confused by your reference to whether or not you would be perceived as a pharisee because the pharisee’s were a religious party not a political one and you seem to have made a political statement by casting a vote. The vote was not in relation to a decision that had to be made by your church and so in those circumstances I would say that you are not a pharisee.

    • I’m confused by your reference to whether or not you would be perceived as a pharisee because the pharisee’s were a religious party not a political one and you seem to have made a political statement by casting a vote.

      Good point Jan…thanks!

  6. Jan and PJ, I was using “Pharisee” in the way it was used in the article that prompted my comments. It is the wider definition of being hypocritical, self-righteous or sanctimonious.

Leave a Reply

Rooted and Grounded In Christ

Teaching Sound Doctrine & Glorifying Christ

Music from Broken Chords

Down in the human heart, crush'd by the tempter, Feelings lie buried that grace can restore; Touched by a loving heart, wakened by kindness Chords that were broken will vibrate once more. From the Hymn "Rescue the Perishing" by Fanny J. Crosby

Lead Me

"Evil men do not understand justice, but those who seek the LORD understand it fully."

I Was a Teenage Dispensationalist

It's the end (of the end) of the world as we know it...

Disrupting Culture

A blog by Dr. Jonathan Welton

