3 Comments

Ask the ‘Jewish God’ to Enlighten You


I became somewhat confused while reading this article.  Not sure what the author was trying to get across by using the term the “Jewish God” 22 times within the article. Perhaps someone can explain it to me….

See: Ask the ‘Jewish God’ to Enlighten You

3 comments on “Ask the ‘Jewish God’ to Enlighten You

  1. Actually there is quite a lot of good theology in this article, but he ruins all that by hammering on his “Jewish God” thing. And, nowhere in this long article does he provide a scripture that uses the phrase “Jewish God”. Probably because such a scripture does not exist. The scripture he does reference (I am the God of Abraham, Isaac and Jacob) does not translate to “I am the Jewish God”. So the bottom line is that the whole point of his article is strikingly unscriptural. In reality He is the “I Am”, the ever existing One who was God over all creation even before there was a creation. He was God over all humanity even before there were a Jewish people. After all, he was also the God of Adam and Noah who are never identified in scripture as being “Jewish”. Overall this article strikes me as a weird and subtle attempt to promote “Christian” Zionism without being overt about it. It certainly implies that Judaism is somehow “superior” to Christianity even though it acknowledges the pre-eminence of Christ.

    • You’re right about the basic theology within the article. It was good. I think thats why it confused me, for i couldn’t grasp what he was trying to drive home by using the term the Jewish God, over and over. And like you George, i kept thinking,

      He was God over all humanity even before there were a Jewish people

      Do you think the author believes God the Father is Jewish? For thats how it came across, if he meant it to or not.

  2. For me when I define the Jewish God I would use these verses of many more I could use:

    Psa 135:1 Praise the LORD! Praise the name of the LORD, give praise, O servants of the LORD,
    Psa 135:2 who stand in the house of the LORD, in the courts of the house of our God!
    Psa 135:3 Praise the LORD, for the LORD is good; sing to his name, for it is pleasant!
    Psa 135:4 For the LORD has chosen Jacob for himself, Israel as his own possession.
    Psa 135:5 For I know that the LORD is great, and that our Lord is above all gods.
    Psa 135:6 Whatever the LORD pleases, he does, in heaven and on earth, in the seas and all deeps.
    Psa 135:7 He it is who makes the clouds rise at the end of the earth, who makes lightnings for the rain and brings forth the wind from his storehouses.
    Psa 135:8 He it was who struck down the firstborn of Egypt, both of man and of beast;
    Psa 135:9 who in your midst, O Egypt, sent signs and wonders against Pharaoh and all his servants;
    Psa 135:10 who struck down many nations and killed mighty kings,
    Psa 135:11 Sihon, king of the Amorites, and Og, king of Bashan, and all the kingdoms of Canaan,
    Psa 135:12 and gave their land as a heritage, a heritage to his people Israel.
    Psa 135:13 Your name, O LORD, endures forever, your renown, O LORD, throughout all ages.
    Psa 135:14 For the LORD will vindicate his people and have compassion on his servants.

    The sense I come away with after reading the article is the man is more a “me and you” Arminian sort?

    From where I sit, I can faithfully say I did not choose God nor was I seeking Him. He, of His Own Free Will did to me what He willed and that caught me fully off guard and off side!

    From His touch I have been, ever since, in a struggle with my flesh to attain to repentance, that sort of thing the Apostle writes about here:

    2Pe 3:9 The Lord is not slow to fulfill his promise as some count slowness, but is patient toward you, not wishing that any should perish, but that all should reach repentance.

    As for all the deeper things of God, aren’t we suppose to keep our faith private as the Apostle taught?

    Rom 14:22 The faith that you have, keep between yourself and God. Blessed is the one who has no reason to pass judgment on himself for what he approves.

    It seems to me he is preaching a work whereby God owes him not a gift that God gives him to bring him safely to the heavenly kingdom?

    I guess because of my age and the fact that I am much older than when I first believed these Words by Paul the Apostle are becoming more and more appealing to me:

    2Ti 4:16 At my first defense no one came to stand by me, but all deserted me. May it not be charged against them!
    2Ti 4:17 But the Lord stood by me and strengthened me, so that through me the message might be fully proclaimed and all the Gentiles might hear it. So I was rescued from the lion’s mouth.
    2Ti 4:18 The Lord will rescue me from every evil deed and bring me safely into his heavenly kingdom. To him be the glory forever and ever. Amen.

Leave a Reply

Rooted and Grounded In Christ

Teaching Sound Doctrine & Glorifying Christ

Music from Broken Chords

Down in the human heart, crush'd by the tempter, Feelings lie buried that grace can restore; Touched by a loving heart, wakened by kindness Chords that were broken will vibrate once more. From the Hymn "Rescue the Perishing" by Fanny J. Crosby

Lead Me

"Evil men do not understand justice, but those who seek the LORD understand it fully."

I Was a Teenage Dispensationalist

It's the end (of the end) of the world as we know it...

Disrupting Culture

A blog by Dr. Jonathan Welton

