4 Comments

CEO David Siegel Threatens Employees with Layoffs If Obama Is Reelected


This evening the story below popped up on the local news and I had to find out if it was actually true, because frankly I had a hard time believing it. Someone more knowledgeable may tell me this occurs all the time. Maybe it does and I’m just naive or stupid, but I was shocked to find out this news story was true.  

Boy, what an example of how money + power, when possessed by evil men, can lead to the abuse of others;

quote,

The super-rich guy who claims he’s the one who got George W. Bush elected is doing everything he can to make sure Mitt Romney wins in November too. David Siegel, the founder and CEO of giant timeshare company Westgate resorts, sent an opus-like email to his workers, railing against one-percent bashing and arguing that the president’s reelection would “threaten your job.”

If any new taxes are levied on me, or my company, as our current President plans, I will have no choice but to reduce the size of this company. 

Siegel isn’t the first CEO to push his political preferences on his employees. Bob Murray, CEO of coal company Murray Energy, allegedly pressured his workers to donate money to the Romney campaign. Murray energy workers have also accused the company of forcing them to participate in a pro-Romney rally, give up a day’s worth of pay and face the possibility of getting fired if they didn’t. And Richard Lacks, CEO of car parts manufacturer Lacks Enterprises, urged his employees to vote for Romney on the basis of the claim that four more years of Obama would mean a boost in taxes and a decrease in pay. (source)

You can read the complete memo sent out by Dennis Siegel to his employees, including his veiled and not so veiled threats, HERE.

 The book of Ecclesiastes comes to mind,

Ecclesiastes 4:1 Again I looked and saw all the oppression that was taking place under the sun: I saw the tears of the oppressed–and they have no comforter; power was on the side of their oppressors–and they have no comforter.

Ecclesiastes 5: 13 I have seen a grievous evil under the sun: wealth hoarded to the harm of its owners.

Ecclesiastes 8:9 All this I saw, as I applied my mind to everything done under the sun. There is a time when a man lords it over others to his own hurt.

One last thing. Actually a question. Am I alone in thinking this presidential election has become a real eye opener? I’ll be 65 before this year ends and have seen my share of elections, but this one is different. Its just a feeling but I believe this election will forever change American politics. There are specific reasons for why I believe this, but its probably better if I keep them to myself for now.  Do you have any thoughts on this?

4 comments on “CEO David Siegel Threatens Employees with Layoffs If Obama Is Reelected

  1. Siegal is an unbeliever. You would expect him to place the highest value on money. You would not expect believers to do the same. This election has exposed the carnality and compromise that runs rampant within the church.

    http://judahslion.blogspot.com/2012/10/the-separation-of-church-and-state.html

  2. Well David Siegel, how about this. I’m telling my democrat friends not to buy your timeshares. Your employees learned how to intimidate their potential customers and I was one of those fools to purchase a 4 bedroom villa, odd years and while told you would buy it back….that was a lie. I’m stuck with it and when we visited in 2011 was greeted by roaches, not to mention the poor customer service and owners get treated like crap. He makes his money through deceptive means. I hope his employees tell him a thing or two. If we don’t buy his timeshares his employees won’t have jobs anyway.

  3. So it’s evil to build a business and try to keep it profitable? Interesting….

    You know what’s evil? Murder is evil. It’s evil to not protect our ambassador even after he begged for additional protection and was denied. Evil is covering up a murder so your BOSS can get re-elected and you can keep YOUR JOB. This is how you burn in hell. I hope Ms. Hood prays for forgiveness however I doubt she believes in anything bigger than her (‘cept for the Government).

    • I’ll pray for you RP…for you obviously need it. How anyone can be so blind as to miss the entire point of this post, is beyond my comprehension. What has blinded you RP?

Leave a Reply

Rooted and Grounded In Christ

Teaching Sound Doctrine & Glorifying Christ

Music from Broken Chords

Down in the human heart, crush'd by the tempter, Feelings lie buried that grace can restore; Touched by a loving heart, wakened by kindness Chords that were broken will vibrate once more. From the Hymn "Rescue the Perishing" by Fanny J. Crosby

Lead Me

"Evil men do not understand justice, but those who seek the LORD understand it fully."

I Was a Teenage Dispensationalist

It's the end (of the end) of the world as we know it...

Disrupting Culture

A blog by Dr. Jonathan Welton

