15 Comments

The saddest thing I’ve ever read…


Written by Jim Daily, President and chief executive officer of Focus on the Family:

The election is over, and I sense there’s something of a gloomy spirit in many conservative corners of the country this morning. Analysts and pundits, and even the candidates themselves, billed this year’s contest as a crossroads of great consequence. They were right. As many Christians who see the confluence of our faith and the many issues of culture, we poured our hearts and souls into this year’s election.We donated our time and gave of our treasure. We made phone calls. We helped to register and educate new voters. We prayed.

Now tell me, isn’t that sad? They “poured their hearts and souls out” they gave of their “treasure”.  Not to see souls saved, but for a lousy election! God help us…no wonder the Church is in such a mess. 

Let us continue this sad funeral dirge,

In casting a vote for President Obama or his challenger, Governor Mitt Romney, Americans were either affirming or rejecting a very specific governing philosophy. Of equal importance, we were also passing judgment on the respective candidate’s ideology concerning some of the critical issues of our day.

So now the electorate has spoken.

President Obama has won the Electoral College with a comfortable margin, but only by a slim margin in the popular vote. The long campaign is finally over.

But here is a fact, the most important calling of my life – and yours – continues.

Oh good, he’s going to tell us he realizes what a fool he’s been and has now come to his senses! 

It may feel like everything has changed and that the way forward has been dashed. But the reality is quite the opposite.

That’s because the greatest challenges facing the family still rage red hot. Our hands and our hearts are needed more than ever before in our nation’s history.

Awhile back I asked former President George W. Bush to identify the most significant threat to the United States of America. I thought he would say it was terrorism. He answered immediately and without equivocation.

The deterioration of the family.

He’s absolutely correct and this is where our work needs to focus now.

Helping marriages, parents and introducing people to the Gospel of Jesus Christ.

Well, sort of, even though the Gospel and Jesus Christ is listed at the end.

But lets continue,

And so while elections have major consequences, one thing remains crystal clear to me as the sun rises on a new day.

It’s time to rededicate ourselves to the mission of the moment: to rebuild the American family and renew our hope in the God in whose hands we rest, “safe and secure from all alarm.”

It’s time to continue our effort to make sure that every person, however small, is protected under law. It’s time to again remind those who support abortion that life is the better choice! It’s time to recommit ourselves to championing adoption and reforming a broken foster care system. It’s time to be bold and stand stiffly into the wind of popular culture and point to the extraordinary benefits of children being raised in homes with one mom and one dad.

Simply put, it’s time to be the hands and feet of Jesus.

Its strange the mention of introducing people to the Gospel of Jesus Christ didn’t make the ‘cut’ in the list of things to do in order to be the hands and feet of Jesus

The Lord told his followers, “In the world you will have tribulation; but be of good cheer, I have overcome the world.” (John 16:33)

Yes, every election is the equivalent of a fork in the road, a time of choosing when the country’s citizens express their voice in the form of a vote. That President Obama has won re-election comes as a source of great disappointment to many because of his campaign to support abortion and same sex marriage. These are policies which many know are contrary to scripture and weaken the family.

A fair-minded person will also acknowledge and admit that any time their candidate loses the news can come as a blow. But there is also divine opportunity seeded in the reality of setback.

I believe the coming days, weeks and months could very well be one of the modern-day Church’s finest hours. This is no time to name call; there is no place for pettiness as we begin to count the consequences of the 2012 campaign.

If you’d like you can finish it here

Frankly, I can’t take anymore of this pity party/funeral dirge. Guess my point in posting this is to say its evident these folks haven’t learned anything. They’ll lick their wounds and then pick themselves up so as to once again “pour” their “hearts and souls” and spend their “treasure” over the next four years, in the attempt to get their newest candidate…whoever he is, elected in 2016. All the while believing they are being the “hands and feet” of Jesus.

But I ask again, isn’t that sad?   

15 comments on “The saddest thing I’ve ever read…

  1. I think that maybe it rubbed you in a different way than it rubbed me, PJ. Not to say that either one of our interpretations is right or wrong. I stopped listening to Focus on the Family years ago when I heard strong political comments on almost every daily show. Then Dobson stepped aside and I thought the new format would get back to focusing on the family. It still does deal with family issues but the political speech is still there as well, especially in an election year with a very unpopular, even hated, incumbent president up for reelection. In my opinion, what society calls the church is either asleep or apostate, or was never the real church to begin with. People think that if we can pick the “right guy” for president (meaning a conservative Christian, preferably white) then we can legislate morality. I used to believe this as well since I grew up in a home that believed this. But when I matured and had to sort things out on my own I came to realize that you can not legislate morality. It reminds me of the phrase, “You can lead a horse to water but you can’t make it drink”. We could elect a conservative Christian president, congress and senate, and then we could right all the wrongs, politically speaking. Would that stop abortions? Homosexuality? Terrorism? Hatred? Racism? Sin? Of course not. I think that we as Christians are told by our Master that we do not belong here…..we are aliens, just visiting. Our hearts belong to Someone much more important than anyone here on earth. We must live in a world that will hate us if we live our lives dedicated to Christ and His ways. We will, and do, suffer tribulation. There’s only one hope that we can realize and that is that the gospel of Jesus has the ability to change hearts and lives. And that gospel should be what we focus on because it’s the only hope and change that means everything! Obama’s hope and change means nothing when you die. We are not to fear the ones who can take our life but to fear the One who can take our life and soul. The church would do well to wake up and start caring about people from a spiritual perspective and stop trying to be so political thinking that we can just fix everything by legislating morality. It won’t work until hearts change and that takes a spiritual rebirth. So, that being said, I think Focus on the Family should focus on families. Their focus is a Christian ministry to Christian families and I know many who have benefited from sound biblical help and advice, myself included. But Focus on the Family lost my support when they became a political action committee trying to churn out the next “saviour”. The family is under attack…do not doubt that! So husbands and fathers and wives and mothers train up your children! The rest is in God’s hands. We are ALL accountable to God. I know Focus means well and I do not hate them….I just can’t listen anymore. I also consider it a huge privilege to live in such a wonderful country where I can take part in choosing our next leader. But at the end of election day when all the votes are counted and my choice didn’t win then life goes on. My hope is not in any earthly man and God in his sovereignty ordains our leaders. Maybe we should just pray for them and continue to live our lives with the Gospel as our motivation and hope and do what we can to keep the family unit focused on Christ and pray that the gospel will reach others to transform people and families for eternity.

    • I too haven’t listened to them in many years.

      After reading over your comment reformed, i believe we totally agree my friend. Perhaps my sarcasm (in the post) put you off?

  2. Focus on the family, like so many others, continues to engage in the wrong war. The family unit has become an idol, and abortion, although much less pronounced these days, is a straw man. Like a plumber running to fix each new sprung leak, the church has tucked the gospel safely away in the doctrinal museum while our “time and treasure” are “poured” into temporal issues. And we have become blind to the fact that many of these issues would come into Biblical alignment only through a regeneration process and not the legislation process.
    The pungent atmosphere of sadness and even depression leaves no doubt as to where the hearts were invested. And a fallen nation reveals its fallen nature and believers lament, not only the outcome, but openly lament how much of their own resources were wasted. Another example of narcissism and being results oriented. And with “Eternal Father Strong to Save” being played sadly in the background, the church takes a deep breath and heads back to the battle that cannot be won and turns away from the victory that has already been won.
    The more layers of nationalism and moralism are uncovered, the more it becomes apparent just how deep are the roots. I have been born again for almost 39 years and I can honestly say I have seen liberalism, I have seen compromise, I have seen higher criticism, I have seen modernism, and I have seen movements like the emergent church and the prosperity message and the Joel Osteens and the Rick Warrens rise to ecclesiastical prominence. But in this last election year I have been taken aback as I have seen not only a revelation of just how invested in nationalism the church was, but I have been astonished as I’ve witnessed just how the church has dug in their heels and become reenergized and fully surrendered to it.
    Any spiritual awakening will have to be on a one person at a time basis. And when the shepherds have become temporal hirelings, then the sheep are imperiled. But I lift up my eyes because we may not even see another presidential election. And when Jesus Himself begins His last prophetic acts, what benefit will the love of America do for the lost? As believers we must humble ourselves and pray earnestly for the church and all our deceived brethren. I have made a promise to God that I am cutting way down my exposure to the voices of politics both in and out of the church. It does not feed my soul, it does not lead my to the cross, it does not stir up Christ’s redemption inside me, and it only makes cleansing my heart that much more difficult.
    I pray God will do another miraculous work in my life this coming year, and He knows best of all I have proven without controversy I cannot do it in myself.

    • Focus on the family, like so many others, continues to engage in the wrong war. The family unit has become an idol, and abortion, although much less pronounced these days, is a straw man. Like a plumber running to fix each new sprung leak, the church has tucked the gospel safely away in the doctrinal museum while our “time and treasure” are “poured” into temporal issues. And we have become blind to the fact that many of these issues would come into Biblical alignment only through a regeneration process and not the legislation process.

      Well said Rick! Amen.

      The more layers of nationalism and moralism are uncovered, the more it becomes apparent just how deep are the roots. I have been born again for almost 39 years and I can honestly say I have seen liberalism, I have seen compromise, I have seen higher criticism, I have seen modernism, and I have seen movements like the emergent church and the prosperity message and the Joel Osteens and the Rick Warrens rise to ecclesiastical prominence. But in this last election year I have been taken aback as I have seen not only a revelation of just how invested in nationalism the church was, but I have been astonished as I’ve witnessed just how the church has dug in their heels and become reenergized and fully surrendered to it.

      I understand. When first led to look more closely at Christian Nationalism and the Christian Patriot movement, which came about through studying dominion theology, i was astounded to see how deeply entrenched these false Christian movements had become within the American Church. And, it had happened right under our nose!

      While the enemy distracted us with the Benny Hinns, Osteens, and numerous false teachers and prophets, he was all the while sitting up a stronghold and idol inside the Church in America in the form of Nationalism (in all its forms).

  3. I was reading on facebook yesterday some goofs post that said “if we start today we can change the face of America and be ready four years from now”. The only thing that matters to these folks is politics, with an occasional nod to Jesus. I really think to them Jesus is maintaining some kind of safe, American moral lifestyle. These people are fox news drones. I am increasingly stunned by how folks are acting.

    • Teresa that sounds familiar, i may have seen the same post. aha!

      Yes i agree. They’ve forsaken the only sure way to ensure lasting change: Jesus; for their own works: political activism. You’d think by now they’d be able to see their way hasn’t worked.

  4. Argh….!!!!

  5. I am one for the restoration of the soul/family structure and one of our missions is to that end.

    However, Jesus did make priorities and these two seem to come before the restoration of the soul/family, one of the missions within the Church:

    Mar 10:23 And Jesus looked around and said to his disciples, “How difficult it will be for those who have wealth to enter the kingdom of God!”
    Mar 10:24 And the disciples were amazed at his words. But Jesus said to them again, “Children, how difficult it is to enter the kingdom of God!
    Mar 10:25 It is easier for a camel to go through the eye of a needle than for a rich person to enter the kingdom of God.”
    Mar 10:26 And they were exceedingly astonished, and said to him, “Then who can be saved?”
    Mar 10:27 Jesus looked at them and said, “With man it is impossible, but not with God. For all things are possible with God.”
    Mar 10:28 Peter began to say to him, “See, we have left everything and followed you.”
    Mar 10:29 Jesus said, “Truly, I say to you, there is no one who has left house or brothers or sisters or mother or father or children or lands, for my sake and for the gospel,
    Mar 10:30 who will not receive a hundredfold now in this time, houses and brothers and sisters and mothers and children and lands, with persecutions, and in the age to come eternal life.
    Mar 10:31 But many who are first will be last, and the last first.”

    It seems to me if we get the Word out and the Holy Spirit can take it and make disciples of it the focus on the family will be a natural and supernatural byproduct and fruit?

    Seems to me they have lost the focus on how God restores the family??

    But, hey, the supernatural life of dying to self, picking up His cross and forsaking fatherm mother, house, brothers and sisters and children and land is not a part of the natural processes of a natural person’s life! Jesus Himself it is “impossible” for man and the good news is what is impossible for man is not for God in man! You must be born again!!

    • I am one for the restoration of the soul/family structure and one of our missions is to that end.

      Michael, i believe all Christians want to see the family structure strengthened. Don’t you?

      But saying that, it’s only through the preaching (and teaching) of the word of God, this can ever hope to be accomplished. So you’re right,

      It seems to me if we get the Word out and the Holy Spirit can take it and make disciples of it the focus on the family will be a natural and supernatural byproduct and fruit?

      The problem with focus on the family is they seem to have always had it backwards, or in recent years, just wrong. Rather then relying on the word and the Spirit to strengthen families they have relied more and more upon political activism.

      You must be born again!!

      Amen Michael!

  6. They looked to a mormon to save them
    how weird is that.

    • Yes it was weird Jan. It was both bizarre and interesting to sit back and watch these guys attempt some type of strange “spiritual” gymnastics in order to find a way to openly support a Mormon, in light of the decades they spent clamoring for “only a Christian in the White House!”.

  7. “Simply put, it’s time to be the hands and feet of Jesus.”

    I’m not a Christian but I can tell that their declaring themselves to be “the hands and feet of Jesus” is blasphemous. It portrays Jesus as a quadripligic without their assistance.

  8. PJ, you are right. After I re-read my comment and your reply I think we are in total agreement! Reading other people’s comments I couldn’t help but think of Bill Hybels and all of the work he has done to make church appealing to the lost. Willow Creek and it’s affiliate member churches is huge and it all started with him going to people and asking them why they don’t like church and then taking the results and remodeling his church to tailor the needs of the unsaved to attract them to come to his church. There’s much evidence out there so I won’t bore you with details but how sad that we sold a true meaningful way for believers to worship God for statistics of popularity where the Gospel is rarely mentioned and clothes, music and fun are more important than eternal security! I look at the shape of the “church” in America and other parts of the modern world and I am sickened and angered. It is time for the church to return to it’s first love and dedicate itself to serving and pleasing Him. I think it was an old Bill Gaither Trio album that my parents played when I was little that had a song which said, “Kings and kingdoms will all pass away but there’s something about that name (Jesus)”.

    • Glad you saw we were agreeing!

      I think it was an old Bill Gaither Trio album that my parents played when I was little that had a song which said, “Kings and kingdoms will all pass away but there’s something about that name (Jesus)”

      Bill Gaither wrote that song. It’s always been one of my favorites.

      Just for you reformed:

Leave a Reply

Rooted and Grounded In Christ

Teaching Sound Doctrine & Glorifying Christ

Music from Broken Chords

Down in the human heart, crush'd by the tempter, Feelings lie buried that grace can restore; Touched by a loving heart, wakened by kindness Chords that were broken will vibrate once more. From the Hymn "Rescue the Perishing" by Fanny J. Crosby

Lead Me

"Evil men do not understand justice, but those who seek the LORD understand it fully."

I Was a Teenage Dispensationalist

It's the end (of the end) of the world as we know it...

Disrupting Culture

A blog by Dr. Jonathan Welton

