6 Comments

Hatred as an Invited Guest


Just goes to show how crazy (or plain stupid) our elected officials are, because who in their right mind would invite Ted Nugent to be their guest at the State of the Union address?

Rep. Steve Stockman from Texas has invited Ted Nugent to the State of the Union address on Tuesday. Nugent said that if President Obama was re-elected he would be “dead or in jail”. That is one of the more benign statements from Nugent.

More at Following Judah’s Lion 

6 comments on “Hatred as an Invited Guest

  1. It has been reported that this man’s pastor gives altar calls for political activism. There cannot be much longer to wait.

    • You’re kidding? I’ve now heard it all!😦

      I know you’re a “wee” bit younger then me Henry (aha!) but we grew up in the same era, do you agree that one thing we are sure missing today is respect? I’ve thought long and hard about this for some time. It seems people today don’t appear to have any sense of respect toward anyone. Not our president or anyone God has placed in a position of authority. I don’t think this pleases God.

      My parents and teachers taught me to show respect for others. As an adult i have tried to have this attitude through out my life….even for people i didn’t always agree with. I can recall an incident years ago in which i was deeply distressed over what i saw and heard coming from my pastor. In prayer (over this) i sensed the Spirit saying to have respect for the office (of pastor) even if i found myself losing it for the man. I’ve never forgotten that lesson.

      I bring this up because of the rep. from Texas inviting Nugent. He knows its showing disrespect to invite a man who has just recently had the secret service seriously questioning him about statements he has made about the president.

      I feel like Rodney Dangerfield writing about respect, but my goodness, what has happened to this nation and its leaders?!

  2. Yes. Two of my children are teachers and today the parents defend their children regardless of what they’ve done or said. They show disrespect openly and even in front of their parents and yet the parents still blame the teacher. I never told my parents if I got in trouble because I would have been punished at home too!

    • Yes. I even see this open show of disrespect in some of my own grandchildren….not toward me but toward their parents. I don’t understand it either because my own children (their parents) were not raised that way…

      Frankly, i think this growing prevalent attitude (which we see in adults today too) is a spirit!

  3. I suspect the children today are simply following the examples being set by those who should be role models. From entertainment icons to political icons, that example is not sending our youth a wholesome message. I was appalled at the way President Bush was treated, even though I was opposed to many of his policies, and that sort of mean spirit has only been multiplied since then. And it doesn’t stop with President Obama by any means. I have seen the same vicious PUBLIC attacks on Republicans as well. And, all the time, are youth are watching and learning how to “survive” in the world as the tone just gets harsher and cruder with every passing news bite. The world has always been corrupt by nature, but that corruptness is now being projected publically in a way that is unprecidented in this country. And even in our churches we can’t waste time on the Gospel of Jesus when “saving” our country is more important than the redemption of souls. The children are soaking all of this up like little sponges. They are observing that everything is about power and money. The gospel THEY are hearing day in and day out is “seek ye first power, influence and wealth and THEN righteousness will be added to you as a reward for setting the world straight”. They are also learning not to mince any words when expressing their feelings to or about someone that have any disagreement with. The future doesn’t look good unless you are looking to a Heavenly City. And most are very obviously looking to an earthly one, ruled by Jesus of course, but most importantly by THEIR Jesus, the one who looks after THEIR “needs” and desires. That is the “gospel” being preached to our children. And we are shocked when they are “converted”?

    • Amen George.

      It did, politically, seem to escalate while Bush was president. I use to feel sorry for him. Like you i didn’t always agree with his policies, the same can be said about Obama or any other pres. in my lifetime, but i still respected him…truth be told, i actually liked him! Ahaha…i laugh cause i said that once before on this blog and got slammed by a fellow Christian.

      And you’re right, its gotten even worse under Obama. Only thing different is its now primarily Christians slurring the president. Its made me feel ashamed.

      The world has always been corrupt by nature, but that corruptness is now being projected publically in a way that is unprecidented in this country. And even in our churches we can’t waste time on the Gospel of Jesus when “saving” our country is more important than the redemption of souls. The children are soaking all of this up like little sponges. They are observing that everything is about power and money. The gospel THEY are hearing day in and day out is “seek ye first power, influence and wealth and THEN righteousness will be added to you as a reward for setting the world straight”. They are also learning not to mince any words when expressing their feelings to or about someone that have any disagreement with.

      Yes, amen.

      One of my kids stopped in this morning to take me to the grocery store and we ended up talking over lunch about judgement. He’d listened to some preacher talking about God’s judgement coming upon America, and asked what i thought. I reminded him judgment begins in the house of the Lord, and told him to look around, for in my opinion judgment is NOW, and has been for awhile, taking place! God is permitting what we’re seeing George. I truly believe this.

Leave a Reply

Rooted and Grounded In Christ

Teaching Sound Doctrine & Glorifying Christ

Music from Broken Chords

Down in the human heart, crush'd by the tempter, Feelings lie buried that grace can restore; Touched by a loving heart, wakened by kindness Chords that were broken will vibrate once more. From the Hymn "Rescue the Perishing" by Fanny J. Crosby

Lead Me

"Evil men do not understand justice, but those who seek the LORD understand it fully."

I Was a Teenage Dispensationalist

It's the end (of the end) of the world as we know it...

Disrupting Culture

A blog by Dr. Jonathan Welton

