9 Comments

Not of this World…


A simple thought came to me today. This blog, among other things, has watched and reported on the actions of the Evangelical American Christian Right, or American Political Christianity if you will, for some years, and some posts have been ridiculous while others have been very serious in nature. One thing they all have in common is they reveal that those organizations and individuals involved have failed to grasp that Christians are not of this world.

I know this is not a new or even profound truth folks, but a simple one; but its one that so many of us have either forgotten or, if you are a young believer, perhaps something you’ve never been taught.

I have given them your word and the world has hated them, for they are not of the world any more than I am of the world. My prayer is not that you take them out of the world but that you protect them from the evil one. They are not of the world, even as I am not of it. Sanctify them by the truth; your word is truth. As you sent me into the world, I have sent them into the world. For them I sanctify myself, that they too may be truly sanctified. (John 17: 14-19)

Jesus understood this, of himself and his followers. Perhaps we need to start reminding ourselves and each other of this simple truth.

God Bless you all...

 

9 comments on “Not of this World…

  1. Wow! A Petra sighting from the early eighties. even though much of the entrenched ecclesiatical establishment fought hard against their “kind” of music, they were very Biblical. Even David Wilkerson, who I like, said it was satanic.
    Speaking of not of this world, Here is something which is actually astonishing concerning Rick Warren.

    http://christiannews.net/2013/03/12/warrens-ecumenical-call-to-fast-pray-for-cardinals-seeking-new-pope-called-real-tragedy/

    • A Petra sighting, ahaha! With two teenage son’s at the time they were very popular in our household in the 80’s, to the dismay of our pastor who also thought they were satanic.🙂

      I always loved their messages.

      Thanks for the link to the article. It doesn’t surprise me.

      Perhaps you’d know Henry; what exactly is the historical timeline of the Church when it concerns evangelizing Catholics? In other words, was there a time (in America) when Protestants actively sought out professing Catholics in order to take the gospel to them? The question shows my ignorance, but i can’t recall any time in my Christian life (of almost 34 years) ever hearing of it being encouraged.

  2. Yes, there was. There still is but it is a dying breed. When I was aved in 1975 Only a small handful of evagelicals even suggested Roman Cathlics were saved or that the RCC preached the gospel. There were tracs that specifically spoke to Roman Catholic people, and some of the men and women in Bible school had been former Roman Catholic.

    • Thanks Henry.

      Thinking about it yesterday it had dawned on me that i had never heard a sermon in all the years of serving the Lord, in any church i attended, which encouraged us to evangelize Roman Catholics. Looking back now, it seems odd. Though it could be because our Northern KY communities did not (and still don’t) have a large Catholic presence.

  3. The reason I believe that so little is heard regarding sharing the gospel with Catholics is because this type of ministry is rejected within the organized church. That has been our personal experience with all the churches we have approached. The pastors will not allow it. Early on in our Christian walk we saw the need for Catholic evangelism and our desire was to give our testimony and bring awareness to the saints regarding Rome’s false gospel. We wanted to do this within a church setting but it was not to be. Only recently have I come to realize the great impact famous names have had on believers regarding Rome. It is quite common for believers to think that Catholics are Christians and it is often difficult to convince otherwise. This is a great tragedy and apostasy of our modern day. Those who address this issue are for the most part para-ministries and of course individual believers. I do thank God for that.

    I read that the new Pope’s father was Italian. That struck a chord in me. I witnessed to, prayed for and loved my Italian father … sharing the truth with him for many years. He was one soul among a multitude.

    • Cathy, i thought about you and Bill when asking my question yesterday. Your blog is the only one i know of personally, which speaks to the errors of catholicism.

      The reason I believe that so little is heard regarding sharing the gospel with Catholics is because this type of ministry is rejected within the organized church…..

      Only recently have I come to realize the great impact famous names have had on believers regarding Rome. It is quite common for believers to think that Catholics are Christians and it is often difficult to convince otherwise.

      That’s a good point. It also may explain why (read my comment to Henry) i can’t recall ever being encouraged to evangelize Roman Catholics in any church i’ve attended.

  4. I was saved in 1980 and it was accepted in my circles that the RC Church was leading people astray, and sharing the gospel with RC was done and common. But as dominionism became more prevalent, and the religious right more influential, alliances were made with the RC church for the sake of political power and numbers. The pro-life movement was the most conspicuous in joining with the RC and looking the other way on soteriology and extra-biblical authority, “for the sake of the babies.” It was justified. Was it, “The enemy of my enemy is my friend”? Bill Clinton was so hated then. Chuck Colson came along and furthered the ecumenism a lot. I am grieved at how folks I know who require one to sign on to the Westminster Confession, disfellowshipping me because my conscience does not allow me to, easily have RC people hold “worship” concerts in their churches, and so on. Starin out a gnat but swallow a camel! These are just my opinions here.
    Victoria

    • I agree with Victoria. For many if not most evangelical Christians today the war is on the political front, not the spiritual front. And on the political front, traditional Catholics are on “our side”, and not to be meddled with. And that is very sad and speaks volumes as to where the church in general is headed in our day.

      That said, I have never really believed in crass proselytism or in trying to win people to MY church. But I believe that I do need to use whatever opportunities I have to share the gospel even, at times, to those within my church. We need to be about sharing CHRIST with people, not our human institutions. And when a Catholic finds the Christ of scripture, God will lead them as to where to go with that. If our purpose is to use evangelism to “grow our church”, that amounts to a conflict of interest that will devalue and hinder our efforts to spread the gospel. For me, it all amounts to the question of who or what is the “be all” and “end all” in our life that we long to share with those around us. Is it our church? Is it our political party? Or is it Jesus? I suspect that the inability to find the correct answer to that question has resulted in a massive failure of evangelism of Catholics, at least in our country.

  5. Good comment, Victoria.

Leave a Reply

Rooted and Grounded In Christ

Teaching Sound Doctrine & Glorifying Christ

Music from Broken Chords

Down in the human heart, crush'd by the tempter, Feelings lie buried that grace can restore; Touched by a loving heart, wakened by kindness Chords that were broken will vibrate once more. From the Hymn "Rescue the Perishing" by Fanny J. Crosby

Lead Me

"Evil men do not understand justice, but those who seek the LORD understand it fully."

I Was a Teenage Dispensationalist

It's the end (of the end) of the world as we know it...

Disrupting Culture

A blog by Dr. Jonathan Welton

