15 Comments

Hello, to anyone still passing by…


I noticed it’s been a month since posting anything today and wanted to say “hello” to anyone who might still be checking out the blog periodically, and to also say thank you from the bottom of my heart to those who have personally written me inquiring about my health. Your notes of prayer and concern meant alot folks…

The past month has been pretty tough. If I’m to be honest, it’s been rough for over a year…as is evident by the fact I slowed down on posting many times over the last 12 months. Continued illness, and stress brought about by family problems, finally just became overwhelming and I needed to take a long rest. This is actually the first time I’ve checked in at the blog since my last post. I knew if I even logged in or came over to check on it, that feeling of guilt (for not keeping up with it) would come over me and just add to the stress.

Sounds silly I know, but that’s been me….at least lately; 

This past month brought a cancer scare (thyroid) which after being taken off my daily medication for weeks (which made me go bonkers) Thank God, proved to be negative, and the loss of a great grandchild. My 21 yr old grand-daughter Sarah and her hubby Devon were expecting their first child and it became necessary to terminate the pregnancy. Needless to say they, and my daughter and son-in-law (her parents) were devastated. As we all were. The doctors kept reassuring Sarah and Devon that everything was ok, though she was in constant pain with periodical bleeding, but after 8 weeks it was determined to be a tubal pregnancy. Sarah required emergency surgery.

There’s more…(a close loved one relapsing into drug use, etc) but won’t continue. I’ll just say it’s been a bad time.

Anyway, sometimes we can just become overwhelmed. Amen? And that’s been me…overwhelmed, but slowly coming to terms that it all must be given over to God. After all, what else can we do? I think that’s why I’ve always loved Peter’s response to Jesus in John 6:

Then Jesus said unto them, Verily, verily, I say unto you, Except ye eat the flesh of the Son of man, and drink his blood, ye have no life in you. Whoso eateth my flesh, and drinketh my blood, hath eternal life; and I will raise him up at the last day. For my flesh is meat indeed, and my blood is drink indeed. He that eateth my flesh, and drinketh my blood, dwelleth in me, and I in him. As the living Father hath sent me, and I live by the Father: so he that eateth me, even he shall live by me. This is that bread which came down from heaven: not as your fathers did eat manna, and are dead: he that eateth of this bread shall live for ever.

These things said he in the synagogue, as he taught in Capernaum.  Many therefore of his disciples, when they had heard this, said, This is an hard saying; who can hear it?

When Jesus knew in himself that his disciples murmured at it, he said unto them, Doth this offend you? What and if ye shall see the Son of man ascend up where he was before? It is the spirit that quickeneth; the flesh profiteth nothing: the words that I speak unto you, they are spirit, and they are life. But there are some of you that believe not. For Jesus knew from the beginning who they were that believed not, and who should betray him. And he said, Therefore said I unto you, that no man can come unto me, except it were given unto him of my Father. From that time many of his disciples went back, and walked no more with him.

Then said Jesus unto the twelve, Will ye also go away?  Then Simon Peter answered him, Lord, to whom shall we go? thou hast the words of eternal life.

Indeed. Where or to whom would I (or you) go?  If you’re like me, in this for the long-run and determined to finish this race, there is no where or to no one else we can turn too for strength and comfort but the Saviour. Even if that means, some days, we can only dredge up enough strength to whisper: “Jesus…please help me. I need you”

My hope is to get back to blogging more regularly, beginning today. And friends, any prayers for my family would be very much appreciated.

God bless, pj (Jaunita) 

15 comments on “Hello, to anyone still passing by…

  1. I noticed your absence, but kept putting off messaging thinking it’d be silly. I understand the pain; I’ve been having hard times with my family and friends as well.

    The end of John 6: wow. That’s the cry of my heart, at least once a week. Where else will I go? Jesus is the Christ, the only one with words of eternal life. I got no illusions of any hope outside of Jesus, I can’t even pray unless its focused on him and him alone. Either he’s the light or we will all be engulfed by the void. John Stott once said he wouldn’t believe in any god if it weren’t for Jesus, I can echo that.

    I’ll pray for you and yours PJ.

    Cal

  2. Oh PJ, I’m sorry it’s been a rough month for you. I’m glad you do not have thyroid cancer. I’m sorry for your loss and thank God your grand daughter will recover! Many blessings to you and know that I am praying for you to feel right and filled with peace in Jesus name!

  3. Hugs to you pj. Not to minimize, because you seem to have more than your share, but so many of us are in such trying times. I love the scripture. We have no other one to go to but Christ in His eternal life. Praying for you and your family!

  4. Glad to have you back PJ. I was thinking maybe you were ill or just taking a rest. I asked the Lord to help if needed, whatever the situation. I’m sorry to hear about your heartaches. The furnace of affliction. What would we all do without Jesus, what would we do. Our love and prayers are with you …

  5. Thanks guys…

    M’Kayla and Cathy, you’re right, so many of God’s people seem to be in the furnace. And have been for some time. And as Cal mentioned, family and friends are playing a large role. I confess, i’ve always been a “fixer”. If you know what i mean. Someone that wants to make everything better or ok for loved ones. The last year has forced me to see i can’t. Its been a very difficult lesson to learn.

    Thank you Micey. It was a relief to get the good news. My doctor who treats the condition didn’t waste any time in letting me know the results, (she called the very next day after the last test). The time off of my medication was horrible and i was sooo glad to get back on it. Praise God!

  6. Hi pj
    I have been passing by and was concerned that you might not be okay – I’m glad your health issues are back on track. As for learning the lesson about wanting to make everything better I don’t think I’ll ever learn that one. I want to make everything better for the whole world! I can echo the sentiment about so many of us being in trying times – it can be overwhelming sometimes when either ourselves or loved ones go through trials – we have to try to trust in God’s sovereignty in all situations, that’s the challenge.

    • Amen Jan, and it sure is a challenge. Sometimes i wonder if its not a mother-thing…this idea that we can and must make everything better for loved ones, especially our children, even when the children are middle-aged adults. In my own case i’ve began to see what a mistake this has been.

  7. Good to see you around again, Juanita. I’m sorry that you have had such a hard time but pleased to see you are a little better.
    Remember Phil 1:6
    The Lord bless you and keep you;
    The Lord make his face to shine upon you and be gracious unto you;
    The Lord lift up his countenance upon you and grant you peace.

  8. PLEASE PLEASE PJ! NEVER EVER feel guilty about dropping out now and then. This blog is the blessing it is BECAUSE OF YOU and YOUR EFFORTS. Without you it couldn’t exist in its present form. When you need a rest occasionally, FOR THE SAKE OF THE BLOG among many far more important things, take a break and try to relax. Our greatest concern is for YOU not for the blog. So when you need a rest, we will all notice that you are taking a break and will be keeping you in our thoughts and prayers and waiting on the Lord to restore you to health again in His good time. I am just glad that you took the break in order to deal with more important and pressing issues and am equally glad that now you are back and feeling better. I wish all the best to you and your family. Remember that you are not Jesus to be able to fix things for wayward family members BUT that He is faithful to work in their lives in His time and He has all the time in the world. We are the ones that are in a hurry and tend to get easily distressed. God bless you PJ, God has all these problems in His hand and He is working everything to His glory and to our good as we trust in Him. Welcome back!

    • George, thank you so much. And thank you for dropping me a note…it was much appreciated.

      Remember that you are not Jesus to be able to fix things for wayward family members BUT that He is faithful to work in their lives in His time and He has all the time in the world.

      Amen, you are so right. My mom use to say i was a worry-wart and my pastor’s wife told me years ago i think too much. ahahaha… Both were right and both bad habits tend to get me into trouble.

  9. Sighs of relief coming your way for the cancer NOT verdict Pj 🙂
    Prayers in earnest for Sarah and all concerned continue. YOU ARE SO LOVED by us…,,,.and indeed by YOUR PRECIOUS LORD, May He reach out and touch each of you in the way that only He can. XXXXXXXX

    • Hi Sylvia!🙂

      It was such a comfort knowing you were praying sister…. and thank you so much for letting me know. I could sense your (and George’s) prayers over the last few weeks.

      And yes, please do continue to pray for Sarah and Devon, they’re dealing with lots of emotional pain still.

Leave a Reply

Rooted and Grounded In Christ

Teaching Sound Doctrine & Glorifying Christ

Music from Broken Chords

Down in the human heart, crush'd by the tempter, Feelings lie buried that grace can restore; Touched by a loving heart, wakened by kindness Chords that were broken will vibrate once more. From the Hymn "Rescue the Perishing" by Fanny J. Crosby

Lead Me

"Evil men do not understand justice, but those who seek the LORD understand it fully."

I Was a Teenage Dispensationalist

It's the end (of the end) of the world as we know it...

Disrupting Culture

A blog by Dr. Jonathan Welton

