17 Comments

URGENT PRAYER REQUEST


From Mike Ratliff

I received the following email from my brother-in-law this morning. 10/09/14 Thursday 6:39 P.M.

Prayer Request from Dan and Marilyn Wilson Missionaries who are in the areas that are being attacked by ISIS are asking to be showered in prayer. ISIS has taken over the town they are in today. He said ISIS is systematically going house to house to all the Christians and asking the children to denounce Jesus. He said so far not one child has. And so far all have consequently been killed. But not the parents. The UN has withdrawn and the missionaries are on their own. They are determined to stick it out for the sake of the families – even if it means their own deaths. They are very afraid, have no idea how to even begin ministering to these families who have had seen their children martyred. Yet he says he knows God has called them for some reason to be His voice and hands at this place at this time. Even so, they are begging for prayers for courage to live out their vocation in such dire circumstances. And like the children, accept martyrdom if they are called to do so. These brave parents instilled such a fervent faith in their children that they chose martyrdom. Please surround them in their loss with your prayers for hope and perseverance. One missionary was able to talk to her brother briefly by phone. She didn’t say it, but I believe she believes it will be their last conversation. Pray for her too. She said he just kept asking her to help him know what to do and do it. She told him to tell the families we ARE praying for them and they are not alone or forgotten — no matter what. Please keep them all in your prayers.

This came this morning… Just a few minutes ago I received the following text message on my phone from Sean Malone who leads Crisis Relief International (CRI).

We then spoke briefly on the phone and I assured him that we would share this urgent prayer need with all of our contacts. “We lost the city of Queragosh (Qaraqosh). It fell to ISIS and they are beheading children systematically. This is the city we have been smuggling food to. ISIS has pushed back Peshmerga (Kurdish forces) and is within 10 minutes of where our CRI team is working. Thousands more fled into the city of Erbil last night. The UN evacuated its staff in Erbil. Our team is unmoved and will stay. Prayer cover needed!” Please pray sincerely for the deliverance of the people of Northern Iraq from the terrible advancement of ISIS and its extreme Islamic goals for mass conversion or death for Christians across this region. May I plead with you not to ignore this email. Do not forward it before you have prayed through it. Then send it to as many people as possible. Send it to friends and Christians you may know. Send it to your prayer group. Send it to your pastor and phone him to pray on Sunday during the service – making a special time of prayer for this. We need to stand in the gap for our fellow Christians. My soul waits in silence for God only; from Him is my salvation. He only is my rock and my salvation, my stronghold; I shall not be greatly shaken. Psalm 62:1-2

17 comments on “URGENT PRAYER REQUEST

  1. Reblogged this on We Are 'N'.

  2. Praying for all our brothers and sisters in that area. May our Lord Protect them and keep them safe from this terrible evil. I pray you will strengthen them and help them in all their efforts as they share your Name. We pray for all the families who have lost their children. How brave they were. Amen.

  3. I’m agreeing in prayer for our brothers and sisters who are suffering, grieving, and under threat in that part of the world. Thank you, PJ, for highlighting this urgent request.

  4. Prayers up!

    But PJ, long time no see! (I’m taking Chinese right now, so here it is in Chinese: “Hai Jiu bu jianle!”) The blog had not been updated for so long. I was quite worried about you.

    • Hi Ricardo! Thank you for praying. I saw Mike posted something more related to this, just today, so will share it in a new post.

      Chinese? That’s fantastic! Was there any special reason you decided to study that language? Perhaps a trip, etc?

      Also thank you for your concern. It has been a rough summer health-wise. Surgery, and at least one more to follow. But it’s also given me time for reflection, reading, and prayer, which has been good. As i wrote in another reply, sometimes God tries to get through to us that its time to take a break and get alone with Him; if we fail to see the signs of this call He will see to it it happens, one way or another. In my case it took the body falling apart before i’d slow down.

    • I’m not sure if I ever mentioned it before, but I added a TESOL (teaching English as a second language) certificate to my degree, which, if all goes well, will make me qualified to get a job teaching not only in the United States, but anywhere in the world, once I graduate.

      I was thinking I might teach in China for a little while, and also work on Korean and Japanese as well, so I can travel. They work by contracts, maybe 6 months here, 6 months there, or longer. There are oodles of job opportunities out there that I have seen. Plus I enjoy the culture. The students I have met with and/or tutored are quite different than your average American. More dedicated to their work, which makes teaching them more enjoyable. Most American students are horrifically lazy. That appears to be the norm, actually.

      I am so glad you are doing better now and that you had time to renew yourself with the LORD. I will definitely pray for your health! And don’t forget to pray for me also, as I have so much work to do, and so many various waves slamming into the shores of my faith.

    • No, i don’t believe you mentioned it Ricardo. But it sounds as though this will lead to wonderful opportunities! Was thinking when reading this, how many years it’s been since first “meeting” you here at the blog, and the pleasure i’ve had at watching you (through your comments) grow into a spiritually mature man. Also, how interesting it’s been to watch from afar, how God is leading you into different possibilities in your life. Hope we continue to stay in contact.

      Thanks for offering to pray. I need it. And yes! i will continue praying for you too!🙂

    • We will definitely stay in contact, sweet sister! I greatly treasure your prayers and your friendship! Thank you very much for always praying for me, and also for your patience! It has always greatly touched me to know that you care. You have no idea! Thank you very much, and also for your blog! Every year I always look back at myself from a year prior and think, “Man, I sure was stupid.” Probably that’s how it will always be, actually!

    • “Man, I sure was stupid.” Probably that’s how it will always be, actually!

      Ahahah! For us all Ricardo, for us all. Hopefully we’re all still growing and maturing in the Lord🙂

  5. Yes things have become urgent and so nasty. Already much prayer going up for all concerned but particularly for Dan & Marilyn at this time.
    Thank you so much for bringing this urgent request Pj and so good to ‘hear your voice’ again sister.

    • I’m in the process of writing you a letter Sylvia. So much to tell you sister. Thank you for praying over this situation. I knew you would.

      Yes, things are indeed nasty and growing worse every day, but as you’ll read in the new post (today) God’s work and purpose is being accomplished…even in the midst of all the chaos.

      You’ll be hearing from me soon sister…much love to you Sylvia; My precious sister in Christ.

  6. Thanks for this update PJ. Much prayer needed for this terrible situation. Whilst we grieve for those parents whose children have been martyred, we also thank God for their faithfuless to Jesus. May God grant them grace.

    So glad to see you back in print again. God bless you too PJ.

    • Good to see you Gordon!

      Amen, much prayer is indeed needed. If ever the Church needed to come together as one, it’s now.

  7. Certainly I will pray. Welcome back PJ.

  8. Thank you for posting this. Thanking God for sending me here. ISIS is moving quickly taking more and more. It reminds me when the Lord Jesus allowed Himself to be taken; for it was His time. The serpent thought he was destroying a man; yet Jesus raised His body up again. These children will be raised up again, as well as those who follow after them. Reminds me of the Book of Revelation. Bless the Lord oh my soul. Blessings be upon you in the Name of our Lord Jesus.

    • There is a special Frontline (on PBS) concerning the topic of ISIS, scheduled to air on the 27th (i believe). I plan to watch it. This group will not be done away with by bombing it out of existence. The fact that many thousands of those involved (have joined) do so knowing nothing about Islam, are coming from the US, Australia, Europe, etc. and are young adults, makes this different then other terrorist groups. Also the manner they have chosen to recruit. Many young people are romanticizing this demonic org H. Check out: http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/pages/frontline/rise-of-isis/

      Satan has raised up something in these latter days which the Church (in its pathetic weakened condition) is not equipped to battle.

Leave a Reply

Rooted and Grounded In Christ

Teaching Sound Doctrine & Glorifying Christ

Music from Broken Chords

Down in the human heart, crush'd by the tempter, Feelings lie buried that grace can restore; Touched by a loving heart, wakened by kindness Chords that were broken will vibrate once more. From the Hymn "Rescue the Perishing" by Fanny J. Crosby

Lead Me

"Evil men do not understand justice, but those who seek the LORD understand it fully."

I Was a Teenage Dispensationalist

It's the end (of the end) of the world as we know it...

Disrupting Culture

A blog by Dr. Jonathan Welton

