13 Comments

Cowardly


Spent a great deal of time pondering on Revelation 21:8 this week, especially the word Cowardly. This morning while reading a commentary on this verse, and the specific term cowardly, I believe I came upon a fitting definition.

“But the cowardly, the unbelieving, the vile, the murderers, the sexually immoral, those who practice magic arts, the idolaters and all liars—they will be consigned to the fiery lake of burning sulfur. This is the second death” – Revelation 21:8

The fearful (cowardly) … “Who are the fearful, if not all men? But it is not of natural fear and timidity that is spoken of; it is that cowardice which in the last resort chooses self and safety before Christ. It is not fear which is condemned. The highest courage is to be desperately afraid and in spite of that to do the right thing, even if it means having one’s reputation before men called into question”

I like that definition for it helps explain why it is listed: So in this sense, cowardly means unGodly.

Jesus said to his disciples, recorded in Matthew 16,

“If anyone wishes to come after me he must deny himself and take up his cross and follow Me. For whoever wishes to save his life will lose it; but whoever loses his life for My sake will find it. For what will it profit a man if he gains the whole world and forfeits his soul? Or what will a man give in exchange for his soul?…”

The same could be said concerning one’s reputation, or how we wish to be perceived before men: If we are not willing to chance losing either reputation or “good name” before man, for the sake of Christ or (for) doing what we know is right and good, we have already lost both before God.

And frankly, I think we end up losing both before men anyway, for our very silence “screams” our cowardice.

Sorry for the second post on this topic, but it has been on my heart this week… 

 

13 comments on “Cowardly

  1. No problem with the second post, if something is worth posting again, I feel it should be. Can’t stop a good topic, let it play out. Anyway, I concur with how you see ‘cowardly’ defined. It makes plenty of sense. Just another character flaw we don’t want to have. Time will come when you either stand up for Jesus or reject Him. I choose to fear God and follow Jesus than to be in this world without Jesus and be in constant fear.

    • Thank you aagrove9….and yes, im with you:

      I choose to fear God and follow Jesus than to be in this world without Jesus and be in constant fear.

  2. I have been following this topic with interest PJ, you have certainly hit a big fat nail on the head for me and my family🙂 As it happens my last six weeks have been spent writing up my testimony which truly began at conception due to my mom (not then a believer) taking a drug to eliminate me but God had other ideas and she was sick and it failed. She long ago repented of course and we were exceptionally close before she went to be with her precious Saviour. Anyway……to cut a long story short ‘cowardice’ due to behaviour of leaders along the way has definitely been prevalent (enough to make one weep) but not any more Praise God He set us free from it….and Oh what a difference. I’m pretty sure that most here will have tasted overbearing authority at some point and have experienced a fear of leaders who have way overstepped the mark. The Bible is our ONLY authority and EVERYTHING we need to know is written for us. The only fear we should feel is a healthy fear of God, which is certainly not cowardice.

    God Bless you sister x

    • Hi Sylvia! Your testimony sounds so interesting and one well worth sharing. Are you planning on doing so? Never know what it might accomplish and who may be changed by it sister! Someone’s testimony played a huge part in bring me to the Lord 34 yrs ago.

      This topic, Christian cowards, has been (as they say) “stuck in my craw” recently. Can’t say exactly why though i believe im beginning to get an idea possibly why the Spirit has laid it on my heart: its the dead silence coming from so many who claim to be followers of Christ, on issues which should have then speaking out loud and clear.

      One night in prayer, that term ‘Christian cowards’ just popped into my mind and i found myself saying it out-loud. Shortly afterward i happened upon verse 8 in Rev. 21. I knew it was no coincidence.

  3. Felt impressed to add this: There are some very Godly men (and women) who i’ve witness risk reputation, and braved name calling from other Christians, who do speak out. A few i personally know at facebook and elsewhere around the internet; even here at this blog. I can’t begin to tell you how they (you) have inspired me.

    They have chosen truth over fear and reputation.

    May God bless them in this world, as I know He will in the next.

    • Well it is more than 80 pages Pj but not a ‘book’. I have it set out in three folders to loan to people to read. Many friends are clamouring to read but mainly because they know me. I have ‘glossed over’ the appalling incidents keeping them brief as I want it to be edifying to God and every detail to glorify Him and it does just that from beginning to end.

      However, I will run off a copy and send to you if you really are interested.😉

      It’s SO GOOD to have you back.

    • Sylvia it sounds very interesting! I always find someone’s testimony of how they came to Jesus and of how the Lord has worked in their lives, great inspiration!

      We’re made to be overcomers by the blood of the Lamb and the words of our testimony! Praise God! Would love to read yours.

      And thank you for the encouragment concerning being back. I only pray i don’t face another extended absence any-tme soon.

  4. Hi PJ. I concur with the definition also. In the face if persecution for our faith, I wonder how many of us who live in America would lay down our earthly life and embrace death for the sake of our Lord Jesus Christ. The Lord tells us often enough to fear not. He also said do not fear those who can only destroy the body; but fear the one who can destroy both body and soul. I see a lot of my brothers and sisters in Christ fearful in the face of persecution. How many of us would, like Esau, sell our inheritance for a bowl of soup? ,Basically, I think all of us would hope that if the test came to us, we would be able to pass it. But I wonder if we really would be strong enough in the Lord to really choose Jesus in stead if this earthly life.

    • Basically, I think all of us would hope that if the test came to us, we would be able to pass it. But I wonder if we really would be strong enough in the Lord to really choose Jesus in stead if this earthly life.

      Luci, i have thought about this a lot. I would hope if facing death i would chose my faith in Jesus, but the thing is, we can’t know unless it were to happen. I DO believe that if such a time would come, the Holy Spirit would rise up in those who belong to Jesus, giving us the strength needed to face death with the name of Jesus, on our lips. Hallelujah!

      Think on this;

      “But when they deliver you up, do not worry about how or what you should speak. For it will be given to you in that hour what you should speak; for it is not you who speak, but the Spirit of your Father who speaks in you.” Matthew 10

      I believe this type of guidance and strength will be available to those in Christ, and given to us by the Holy Spirit, even in the face of death for our faith.

    • I hope so too.

  5. It’s amazing to see the difference between a biblically saved Christian and a false convert. To watch the change in myself and my wife in regards to witnessing and evangelism is startling!

    We have courage, strength and wisdom now that we didn’t have before. We would get into discussions and a question would arise and we would be stymied and felt embarrassed not being able to answer. That just doesn’t happen anymore. It seems God gives us the wisdom and knowledge to answer any question that arises.

    It’s quite phenomenal and it’s definitely not from us but God.

    Biblically saved Christians cannot be cowards…for we have the spirit of God within us making us bold and courageous.

    Good post my friend.

Leave a Reply

Rooted and Grounded In Christ

Teaching Sound Doctrine & Glorifying Christ

Music from Broken Chords

Down in the human heart, crush'd by the tempter, Feelings lie buried that grace can restore; Touched by a loving heart, wakened by kindness Chords that were broken will vibrate once more. From the Hymn "Rescue the Perishing" by Fanny J. Crosby

Lead Me

"Evil men do not understand justice, but those who seek the LORD understand it fully."

I Was a Teenage Dispensationalist

It's the end (of the end) of the world as we know it...

Disrupting Culture

A blog by Dr. Jonathan Welton

