113 Comments

Jesus did not come to be the Messiah?


Who is a liar but he that denieth that Jesus is the Christ? He is antichrist, that denieth the Father and the Son. 1John 2:22

I saw mention of his book, In Defense of Israel, and the comments by John Hagee around the internet today, and went searching for the clip in which he made some ‘supposed’ statements. I say supposed because I had to hear it for myself…

-Jesus did not come to Earth to BE the Messiah.
-Jesus refused by word and deed to be the Messiah.
-The Jews cannot be blamed for not accepting what was never offered.

After finding a clip and hearing the man myself, the only thing I can say is he is now a heretic in my book.

From The Threshingfloor:

Is Hagee NOT rejecting the truth of the entire New Testament account of Jesus’ ministry? What then could the Lord have possibly meant when He proclaimed openly in the synagogue at Nazereth:

“The Spirit of the Lord is upon me, because he hath anointed me to preach the gospel to the poor; he hath sent me to heal the brokenhearted, to preach deliverance to the captives, and recovering of sight to the blind, to set at liberty them that are bruised…”-Luke 4:18

***************

When Jesus came into the coasts of Caesarea Philippi, he asked his disciples, saying, Whom do men say that I the Son of man am? And they said, Some say that thou art John the Baptist: some, Elias; and others, Jeremias, or one of the prophets. He saith unto them, But whom say ye that I am? And Simon Peter answered and said, Thou art the Christ, the Son of the living God. And Jesus answered and said unto him, Blessed art thou, Simon Barjona: for flesh and blood hath not revealed it unto thee, but my Father which is in heaven. Matthew 16:13-17

And the high priest stood up in the midst, and asked Jesus, saying, Answerest thou nothing? what is it which these witness against thee? But he held his peace, and answered nothing. Again the high priest asked him, and said unto him, Art thou the Christ, the Son of the Blessed? And Jesus said, I am: and ye shall see the Son of man sitting on the right hand of power, and coming in the clouds of heaven. Mark 14:60-62

Comment navigation

← Older Comments

113 comments on “Jesus did not come to be the Messiah?

  1. A Christian woman, whose husband is a resident at the same nursing home as my father, told me about this recently. I too wanted to hear it for myself. She said she would find out the tape title/number for me. She always has John Hagee’s program on in her husband’s room. She had not been aware of his unscriptural teachings. When she heard him say . . .

    – “Jesus did not come to Earth to BE the Messiah.

    – Jesus refused by word and deed to be the Messiah.

    – The Jews cannot be blamed for not accepting what was never offered.”

    she told me that she’s been telling everyone she knows what he said. I didn’t say much at the time but I thought God is alerting His people. Sometimes we have to hear something totally outrageous before we pay attention. That’s sort of what happened to me.

  2. im glad the Lord is revealing truth and delivering His outta the hands of the wicked…im just not sure why anyone is suprised…televangelists neva preach true gospel and they live like the world…really…ima be real surprised if i hear em sayin Truth…be bless… -g-

  3. I can’t say i was totally surprised by this, but did want to hear it for myself….

    John Hagee stepped over the line when he got involved in the Christian Zionist movement and began to slowly leave the doctrines of Christ for politics and a spiritually “unhealthy” obsession with the land of Israel. I know he denies it, but i really believe he holds to a dual covenant form of theology—which is born out of classic dispensationalist teachings.

    You figure he’s been stating for some time now that he believes that Jews should not be evangelized: that goes totally against the word of God, for Jesus in Mark 16 said:

    “And he said unto them, Go ye into all the world, and preach the gospel to every creature. He that believeth and is baptized shall be saved; but he that believeth not shall be damned.”

    So it shouldn’t surprise anyone now that he is fallen even more into deception and is making further false statements like those in this clip and in his newest book.

    This man, who once preached the true gospel, should be a warning for all believers today. Especially those who hold to this classic form of dispensationalism.

    Its frightening Cathy…for i don’t doubt there are many many other Christians who believe just as he does.

  4. Hi g…

    Yes, i have to sadly agree with you. ‘If’ there is one preacher on TV which is still preaching the truth, there are 50 more that aren’t!

    God bless!

  5. Well I knew John Hagee had went over the line with his two covenant doctrine, and now he is just coming out and explicitly saying it.

    With the current sad climate of Evangelicalism with no backlash against the other heretical statements by some other big names he must be feeling overly confident in his heretical stance.

    The wolves are coming out in the open.

    More reason to stay close to the Word of God.

    Good catch on this one, I linked to it.

  6. a few years back I was listening to Hagee in his ministering and really looked forward toward the next time he would be on the radio… until I found out he was involved with the Pyramid Preachers (TBN).

    I remember one night saying: sure do pray this man stays true Lord, because it seems anyone who involves themself with TBN eventually gets infected with their twisted ideas. It is almost as if they wait till there is a huge following and Kabam out comes the hidden agenda…

    ever wonder why those people are so closely knitted together?

    I seriously believe it is Hypnotic.

    anyway… darkness does not stay hidden for long… it is dying to get out.

    Now we see the darkness in his heart; therefore we can mark him as such…

    FALSE PROPHET!

  7. Yes oxy, I believe it is supernatural also.

  8. I remember one night saying: sure do pray this man stays true Lord

    Your comment jarred my own memory Oxy. I too remember making a similar comment to i ‘believe’ one of my sons. This was back when most everyone [everyone i knew, anyway] was in the process of having their eyes opened to all the false teachers on TBN. Someone had made the remark that John Hagee was one of the very few on TBN which still preached the gospel..

    I pray this man comes to his senses & realizes what he is doing before its too late.

  9. Well I knew John Hagee had went over the line with his two covenant doctrine, and now he is just coming out and explicitly saying it.

    John, that was my thought too. He’s denied more then once that he holds to the belief of dual covenant theology, but his own words (again) betray him.

    He speaks of his love for Israel and the Jewish people…pointing the finger at all who dare to disagree with his theological and end-time beliefs as antisemitic & ‘against God’…not realizing it is he who is not showing real love by refusing to tell them of Christ Jesus.

    (thanks for the link)

  10. Wait a minute. Something is wrong here. I just viewed this video. And i noticed something… John Hagee’s ‘voice’ is at least three seconds behind his lips. In fact it looks like some kind of voice over. Since his lips do not seem to be pronouncing the words at all.

    Crysta

  11. Shocking, just shocking!

  12. I dropped Hagee like a hot potato several months ago when I saw him say on TBN that Paul Crouch “has not forsaken the old paths”. If he could say that there is something very wrong with him. But I never would have dreamed any of them would go as far as to say Jesus is not the Messiah, regardless of what they meant by it. That is definitely a shocking new low. Makes you wonder who all these people really are. It’s all straight from hell imo.

  13. Crysta i noticed the quality wasn’t as good on the one posted on youtube also…but the one posted at thethreashingfloor link is better. What is seen in the clip is actually taken from his TV program, which also may be available to be viewed at his website–i know the book is offered there. He was quoting from his book.

    Hi Joel…

    Yes i agree it is shocking, but to be honest it didn’t surprise me. I’m tempted to get a copy of the book..but hesitate to do so only because i would feel as though i would be supporting and donating to his beliefs by putting out $$.

    Kate, i haven’t watched him for the last 2 years..i stopped watching TBN around that time.

    You know, i use to watch TBN back in 1981..back then they did follow the old path. The first time i found them [the picture was fuzzy, and it was only on 6-8 hours daily] i was thrilled. Those were the days when they had on the PTL nightly program, some great preachers…and teachers. Dr. Walter Martin was one who appeared regularly. I’ve often wondered what he would think about the network today.

    We sure are living in some dangerous times. Men and women of God who once taught/preached the gospel are falling away into apostasy so fast, its hard to keep up.

  14. Blasphemous….

    Please tell this to others in your church, fellowships, friends of Pastor John Hagee’s error. This false teaching needs to be exposed to the light. If I would not of seen this on YouTube and heard it in his own voice, I may of not of believed these could of be coming from Pastor Hagee. Shocking…more evidence we are in the last days.

  15. I documented his heresy with a number of complete quotes from his book “In Defense of Israel.” You can read it here:

    http://www.biblewheel.com/RR/Hagee_Defense_of_Israel.asp

  16. randall, like you i had to hear it myself.

    I had seen a mention of it but didn’t want to post anything until checking it out. I agree, its blasphemous.

    What has surprised me more then anything is that i have seen reference made concerning this, on some Christian boards/forums, and many are defending him–in fact, a few agreeing with Hagee.

    Yes, it is evidence of the last days…

  17. Richard…

    I just read through your post on biblewheel…What an excellent post and job you did at pointing out the heresy’s in the book!

    Hope it ok, im going to post a link to your documentation of the quotes from the book. I was hoping someone might have had more info on the specifics within it–thank you so much for sharing!

  18. […] you had any lingering doubt that Hagee did not mean exactly what he said on the youtube video, after reading this you won’t. I say that with grief and sadness… These are the […]

  19. Hi everyone,
    I am a person who has recently seen the truth and “come out” of Hagee’s church. I’ve heard him say on many, many Sundays that “he loves it when the heat is turned up and people are talking against him.”

    Honestly, I don’t know what has happened to him in the last few years, he didn’t used to be this messed up. I think all the money has twisted his brains. It seems God has given him over to a reprobate mind.

    I loved my church family and am so grieved to see what he has become and the path he is leading innocent people down. It is the road to hell……it must be. It is all so hard for me to believe….shocking is a better word. A prominent man in my community told me that he was at a social gathering with Hagee and that Hagee chased around this rich businessman all night. He described it as Hagee following him around with his hand and tongue hanging out like a starving dog. This man told me that is why he has nothing to do with church, “they’re hypocrites.” What a terrible witness to the unsaved.

    Hagee has surely gotten in bed (so to speak) with the TBN gang with all their heresy. They are laughing all the way to the bank. I remember several years ago when Hagee told us as a congregation about Paul Crouch’s gay affair. I wonder if Hagee was still normal then?

    Since my departure I feel so lost, and I don’t trust any preachers and won’t dare try to go to church again. I’m sure there are good pastors in my area, I just don’t know where. Paula White spoke at Cornerstone recently, she has also moved to the San Antonio area, as well as having a condo in the Trump Towers. What is it with San Antonio? I know they target the poor……..

    I sent quite a bit of money to TBN over the years, but I gave more to Hagee’s church. I’ve asked for my money back at TBN, and of course they said no. So I filed with the BBB in California and another website called RipOff Report. I’m thinking of writing to the FCC as well.

    What a scam!!

    Be blessed all of you and remember when the nay-sayers tell you “not to touch God’s anointed” or “judge not lest ye be judged.” Tell them that Christians are supposed to expose false doctrine!! Jesus did it and so did Paul – hopefully that is good enough for them.

    In my opinion, the pimps are anointed with greasy grace and they have spewed vomit all of the Holy Word of God.

    BoycottTBN

  20. Since my departure I feel so lost, and I don’t trust any preachers and won’t dare try to go to church again. I’m sure there are good pastors in my area, I just don’t know where.

    Hi…Thank you so much for sharing: it sounds as though you
    were at Corner Stone Church for some years.

    Its hard, i know. When my old church fell into apostasy and God led me out, leaving those i loved behind, was one of the hardest things i’ve ever been called upon to do, as was the sense afterwards, of not knowing where i belonged.

    Looking back though, i can now see it was during the weeks and months after leaving, that i finally began to understand i am the church–one of the stones which make up that Grand and Beautiful ‘building’ which is called The Church. We who are in Christ, are abiding ‘in the Beloved’….regardless of if we’re in or out of a specific church or denomination.

    God will lead you to a fellowship and place of worship. There are still many Churches out there which do still preach Christ alone. Many of them though, i’ve found, are small congregations.

    The TBN thing…yes i can see how Hagees continued involvement with them could have been a huge influence on him. But in the end, it will be John Hagee alone, who will answer for ‘John Hagee’. The few ministry’s left on that network who haven’t fallen into the TBN mind-set yet, would be wise to leave it.

    God bless…

  21. John Hagee has fallen – who then is the whore of Babylon but the one who denies Christ – the antichrist. The house is burning just like California is going up in flames. Hell is very hot.

    If you love Jesus / Y’SHUA – the Savior of Jews and Gentiles -remember these verses : Romans 1:16 … Salvation to the Jew First then the Gentile… Romans 2:8 …Tribulation to the Jew First, then the Gentile … Honor and Glory and Peace to the Jew First, then the Gentile… The Jew is always first…
    John 4:22 : …We worship what we understand, because salvation is from the Jews.

    JESUS came to the “lost sheep of the House of Israel” (Matthew 10:6) . As you go make this proclamation: “The Kingdom of Heaven is at hand. Cure the sick, raise the dead, cleanse lepers drive out demons…” or Mark 7:27 :”Let the children (Jews) be fed first. For it is not right to take the food of the children and throw it to the dogs.” (Gentiles) (28) She replied and said to him, “Lord, even the dogs under the table eat the children’s scraps.” (29) Then he said to her, “For saying this, you may go. The demon has gone out of your daughter.” (30) When the woman went hone, she found the child lying in bed and the demon gone.
    But here is the truth as the rubber hits the road :
    Philippians 2:9-11 :… that at the name of Jesus every knee should bend, of those in heaven and on earth and under the earth, and every tongue confess that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of God the Father.” Every knee shall bow and every tongue confess that JESUS CHRIST IS LORD.

    It could not be any clearer that this – or how about John 14:6 :
    “I am the way, the truth and the life, no one comes to the Father except by me.” There is only one way to Heaven and that is with JESUS in the heart of all mankind.

    Repent and turn from your wicked ways. God’s arms are stretched out with compassion, come to Me, He says, My love is heavenly, but first you must come to me because I love you UNCONDITIONALLY.
    Monique

  22. Whoa what is going on here? I didn’t watch the video but is this for real? Has Hagee misspoken or something? Someone please tell me this is some kind of sick joke or something.

  23. Hello William..

    no, im sorry to say its not a joke. There are some links in a few of the posts on this which might interest you–they are reviews of the book by a couple different Christians–one, a Christian leader in Uganda.

  24. Wonderful to hear of others whose eyes are seeing and whose ears who are hearing… Bless the Lord oh my soul.

    Yes, God is revealing the hearts of the men and women who are saying: The Oracle of God, The Oracle of God, when God has not spoken.

  25. John Chapter 4:25

    ” The woman said, “I know that Messiah is coming, when he comes he will explain everything to us.
    Then Jesus declared, “I who speak to you am He.”

    Amazing how people like Hagee can get so entrenched in thier own agenda that they forget to monitor themselves by the whole counsel of God.

  26. Hi Mark…

    you’re right. There is an agenda here..and Hagee has allowed it to come before Christ and the Word of God. That’s the only explanation i can come to, knowing this man probably has read the bible through from beginning to end, for years…

    There is no way he cannot ‘know’ that the word Christ itself, in many of the new testament passages, is translated Messiah. I’m sure no theologian, and i know it.

    Thanks for stopping by…

    God bless

  27. We will pray for all of you because you have judged one incorrectly and spread it like feathers from a torn pillar.

    My pastor, John Hagee, knows the Word, speaks it flawslessly, and lives it in his house. You would have shown Christian maturity with your mis-understanding to have written him personnally to state your position and to learn his response. Now, you have effected many who are either weak in the Word or looking for division in the Christian ranks to compromise the greatest effort to unite Christians for a common cause organized by John Hagee.

    Our prayers will be focused on your williness to forgive as we forgive you, and to ask for forgiveness.

    A brother in Christ,

  28. Hello Fred..

    Thanks for stopping by.

    I understand your loyalty if he is your pastor, but there is no way to deny he is teaching and preaching a dual covenant form of theology. By his very words (which have been quoted in the couple posts here on this–including links to the sources) he affirms that he sees no reason to offer the Gospel to lost Jews, believing when Jesus came it was not as the Messiah to the Jews.

    How does that stand up to the Word my friend? it doesn’t.

    The first sermon preached by Peter (a Jew) on the day of pentecost (Acts 2) resulted in the adding of about 3,000 to the Church (verse 41)…Jews!

    There are Jews today, as there are non-Jews, who are hearing the Gospel message, and are being saved and added to the Body of Christ. So Hagee’s belief, that Jews are blind and so there-for should not be presented with the Gospel of Christ, is ridiculous and unbiblical.

    There is one Messiah–Christ Jesus. Who came for all: that includes Jews and Gentiles of all nations; and it is ONLY through Christ that anyone obtains salvation.

    Now, you have effected many who are either weak in the Word or looking for division in the Christian ranks to compromise the greatest effort to unite Christians for a common cause organized by John Hagee.

    First, what is his ’cause’? Is it taking the Gospel into the world to ALL the lost? No, not by his own words, its not. What is he trying to unite Christians to my friend, the land of Israel or Christ? Israel [the land] did not hang upon the Cross & die, being raised on the 3rd day, for my sins or yours–Jesus did.

    Error is to be pointed out..as well as those who teach it. In the case of John Hagee & any other well known TV preacher it has to be pointed out, especially to those young in the faith. Souls are at stake.

    My little blog isn’t a discernment or apostasy blog–but when i a follower of Christ Jesus, see and know someone as well known as Hagee is teaching error and he is leading others into this same error, i will use this little blog to point it out. As a Christian, i would be remiss if i failed to do so.

    Fred… God bless you. But please, for the sake of the one who died for you, do your own outside investigation on the teachings of your pastor. Don’t just believe what he says from the pulpit.

  29. To PJMiller,
    I knew this about John Hagee when he started having Jewish Rabbi’s on TV and never told them the Gospel message but agreed with their theology instead. But I am a Classic Dispensationalist and I understand the Bible without Hagee’s radical theology. I personally think that Covenant Theology is the problem. It leads to spiritualizing or allegorizing parts of Scripture. Don’t blame dispensationalists for his problem. I clearly and literally understand what the Bible says. So please don’t catagorize all of us who believe the Bible literally where it should be literal with the likes of John Hagee.
    Thanks

  30. Which is more dangerous secular TV or Christian TV? I’m glad the truth about folks like Hagee is finally coming out. I seriously hope the poor folks in his church will start bolting now that his convictions are in the open.

  31. Pam, hi…

    I personally think that Covenant Theology is the problem

    Sorry if it sounded as though i was clumping anyone who held to a dispensationlist view in with John Hagee’s newest teachings. I wasn’t…

    There is a HUGE difference between covenant theology and dual covenant theology.

    Here’s a good link which has many excellent articles on both covenant, reformed, dispensationalism, etc etc..there is even an article or two on dual covenant. HERE

    It was only early this year, after believing myself to be a dispensationalist for 27 years of serving the Lord, that i did my own indepth study on the topic–I know that sounds weird, but it was all i knew or had been taught..so i just accepted it. I’m not a theologian, believe me. Just someone who wanted to find some answers as to why i found myself disagreeing with so many of my Dispensationalist friends on topics pertaining to last day prophecy.

    I started with DT and moved on into covenant, reformed etc…im still studying a lot of the latter 2.

    What i found out helped me a lot….and it helped me to understand why so many Christians today, like Hagee, are falling into the belief of a dual covenant form of theology. Much of it sprang from the teachings within the last 100-150 years of Darby and Scofield who taught a metaphysical distinction between Israel and the Church…believing there would forever be an eternal separation between Israel and the Church of Christ.

    Through Jesus, that wall which separated the two was tore down:

    But now in Christ Jesus ye who sometimes were far off are made nigh by the blood of Christ. For he is our peace, who hath made both one, and hath broken down the middle wall of partition between us; Having abolished in his flesh the enmity, even the law of commandments contained in ordinances; for to make in himself of twain one new man, so making peace; Eph. 2:13-15

    After coming to understand that point in particular, i could no longer say i was a classic dispensationalist.

    God bless…

  32. Yemi..its a toss up! LOL!

    I’d have to say Christian TV .

  33. Incredible! Yet Hagee’s church is filled to rafters every Sunday.

  34. It is hard to believe that John Hagee would say such a thing I went to his web site and look at what he believes and he says He believes that Jesus is the only way to the Father, why would a person say such a thing, he has gone off the deep end to say the lest. If he believes what he is saying about Jesus not being the Messiah he must be lost himself for Jesus is the only way to the Father.
    John 14:6 Jesus saith unto him, I am the way, the truth, and the life: no man cometh unto the Father, but by me. and Jesus went on to say
    “John 5:38-40 And ye have not his word abiding in you: for whom he hath sent, him ye believe not. Search the scriptures; for in them ye think ye have eternal life: and they are they which testify of me. And ye will not come to me, that ye might have life.”
    If we are to have eternal life and go to Heaven we must believe that JESUS WAS THE MESSIAH.

    John 8:24 I said therefore unto you, that ye shall die in your sins: for if ye believe not that I am he, ye shall die in your sins.

    Why John Hagee would say such a thing is beyond me.

  35. Someone please get John Hagee to read the following in John 20:31:

    “but these have been written so that you may believe that Jesus is the Christ [or the Messiah], the Son of God; and that believing you may have life in His name.”

  36. it just gets more disturbing everyday… i can’t watch John Hagee because he yells too much, i suppose that’s why he “seemed” ok to me… i was only seeing bits and pieces and hearing from folks who like him… the article from Biblewheel was very helpful because i thought maybe the video was just being sensational to get people to read the book… thanks for the article, which clearly says the things Hagee believes…

  37. It is hard to believe that John Hagee would say such a thing I went to his web site and look at what he believes and he says He believes that Jesus is the only way to the Father, why would a person say such a thing, he has gone off the deep end to say the lest.

    Yes, it is hard to believe…I’ve read at his website also…you’re right! He does say he believes Jesus is the only way to the Father (and salvation)…but he denies that Jesus is the only way for the Jewish people to receive salvation.

    *from The Other Gospel of John Hagee, found at PFO Research:

    “I believe that every Jewish person who lives in the light of the Torah, which is the word of God, has a relationship with God and will come to redemption.”9

    The Houston newspaper then quoted Hagee’s own shocking words: “I’m not trying to convert the Jewish people to the Christian faith.”

    “In fact, trying to convert Jews is a ‘waste of time,’ he said. ‘The Jewish person who has his roots in Judaism is not going to convert to Christianity. There is no form of Christian evangelism that has failed so miserably as evangelizing the Jewish people. They (already) have a faith structure.’ Everyone else, whether Buddhist or Baha’i, needs to believe in Jesus, he says. But not Jews. Jews already have a covenant with God that has never been replaced by Christianity, he says.”11

    Hagee went on to tell the Houston reporter that Paul abandoned the idea of Jews knowing Christ when he went to the Gentiles.

    Christian Research Institute has also reported on this highly unorthodox view held by Hagee:

    “Information about Hagee from other sources reveals he seriously differs with the vast majority of dispensational teachers because he believes that Jewish people do not need to be saved, since they are under a different covenant.”12

    In his summation Hagee leaves no question at all as he states:

    “There are Jewish people who have relationship with God right now according to the election of grace. (Romans 11:5) … The Jewish people are judicially blinded to the identity of Messiah… Question: If God blinded the Jewish people to the identity of Jesus as Messiah, how could He send them to hell for not seeing what he had forbidden them to see? … Inasmuch as God has blinded them to the identity of Messiah, targeting the Jewish people for mass evangelism is fruitless.”16 –

    In a nutshell and in plain language what he believes is that anyone and everyone, BESIDES the Jews, needs Christ to obtain salvation–he also believes they do not need to hear the Gospel, nor do they need Jesus Christ, the Messiah, to be saved. That God has ‘another’ way for them to obtain right standing with God, and eternal life. Thats Dual Covenant theology–a damnable heresy.

    I believe he has forgotten the early Church was made up of Jews only…as well as he seems to have forgotten 3/4ths of the new testament all-together.

    My question would be: Where in the word of God did the call go forth that tells us we are not to preach the Gospel to the Jews or any specific ethnic group? Answer, it can’t be found because its not in there.

    For the scripture saith, Whosoever believeth on him shall not be ashamed. For there is no difference between the Jew and the Greek: for the same Lord over all is rich unto all that call upon him. For whosoever shall call upon the name of the Lord shall be saved. How then shall they call on him in whom they have not believed? and how shall they believe in him of whom they have not heard? and how shall they hear without a preacher? Romans 10

  38. M, im glad the post at biblewheel was a help to you. It confirmed a few things for me also.

    I had been greatly disturbed with many of the things i had been reading about Hagee for some time now…especially the political group he heads up; CUFI, and his outspoken stance within the Christian Zionist movement. Nevertheless, i still checked out that video before posting it. It saddened me to post it for i use to watch John Hagee years ago, believing he preached the truth.

  39. […] Sola Dei Gloria also weighs in on this blatant heresy of Hagee here.“ […]

  40. Thanks for this important information brother in Christ. Thanks also for linking to http://healtheland.wordpress.com/2007/10/27/the-resurrection-of-jesus-christ/! It is an excellent antidote to the heresy of these people.

  41. I wanted to add a link to my original post.

    There were a couple posters who questioned the video…saying it looked tampered with. (mouth not matching the words exactly)

    As i pointed out before, the clip was accurate–it aired on TV.

    Well someone on youtube posted it again, so for anyone still doubting that he said what he said, GO HERE.

    I considered switching out video’s in the original post, but settled for just adding it in the thread as a comment.

    God bless,

    pj

  42. By Nancy A. Almodovar
    Volume 1 No. 2
    ©2007, Silent Cry Ministries, Inc.

    In the last edition of this column, the reader was encouraged to “take out this rusty old tool (apologetics) and sharpen it through studying its biblical and historical place within the Christian faith learning to use it skillfully as an ‘approved workmen rightly dividing the word of truth’.” What could not be foreseen when that was written was the attack that would come to the very fabric of the Christian faith: The question of whether or not Jesus came to be the Messiah.
    In a new book by John Hagee entitled In Defense of Israel, this pastor of Cornerstone Church in Texas proceeds to make some very bold claims about Jesus and His mission that are counter to what has been taught since the days of Jesus and the Apostles. The question arises then whether or not we have been taught incorrectly all these millennia? Has Hagee stumbled upon a truth “hidden for 2000 years?” Did Jesus actually claim to be the Messiah, both for the Jew and Gentile? Since Hagee is such a popular preacher/teacher and his website boasts millions of followers, should what he publishes come under scrutiny?
    Obviously the answer is yes for two reasons. One, if Hagee is right then we have been following someone who is not the Anointed One from God. Two, if Hagee is wrong than his teachings are wrong, and heretical and his teachings and he must be condemned as such.
    Though there is much to discuss in this book the main point of the entire text is whether or not Jesus came to be and claimed to be the Messiah. First, one must define the terms that will be discussed: “Christ” is the English word for the Greek word “cristos” which means “anointed one”. Messiah is the English word for the Hebrew word “messiach” which means “anointed one”. They are therefore synonymous. If you call Jesus “The Christ” your are calling Him “The Messiah”. I point that out because you will see from the quotes that Hagee denies that Jesus came to be the Messiah, or Cristos/Christ. Since it is only right when discussing someone’s work to quote them it will be done and after each quote, we will then see what Scripture teaches. The question of whether or not Jesus came to be the Messiah is crucial to our faith for if He did not than our faith is in a mere man and our hope is lost.
    “When Jesus was still an infant, the Holy Spirit spoke through Simeon concerning God’s sovereign will for the life of Jesus:
    So he [Simeon] came by the Spirit into the temple, and when the parents brought in the Child Jesus, to do for Him according to the custom of the law, he took Him up in his arms and blessed God and said: “Lord, now You are letting Your servant depart in peace, according to Your word; for mine eyes have seen Your salvation which You have prepared before the face of all peoples, a light to bring revelation to the Gentiles, and the glory of Your people Israel.
    -Luke 2:27-32 emphasis added
    The Holy Spirit of God announced through a Jewish prophet, Simeon, that the sovereign purpose for Jesus’s life was to be a light to the Gentiles (compare Isaiah 42:6).”

    You will notice that Hagee does not include the entire statement in his analysis and leaves off “and the glory of Your people Israel” in his quote. Jesus came for both Jew and Gentile. He is a light to the Gentiles who had been outside the Covenant of Grace as well as the People of Israel who were saved by grace through faith in the coming Messiah. Hagee deliberately leaves off the second statement and leads you to believe that Jesus only came for the Gentile. However, even the Apostle Paul writes: “To the Jew first and then the Gentile” (Romans 1:16)
    However, let us continue.
    “If God intended for Jesus to be the Messiah of Israel, why didn’t he authorize Jesus to use supernatural signs to prove he was God’s Messiah, just as Moses had done? The Jews, knowing of Moses’s signs to Israel, asked for a supernatural sign that Jesus was indeed their Messiah. Jesus answered:
    No sign will be given…except the sign of the prophet Jonah. For as Jonah was three days and three nights in the belly of the great fish, so will the Son of Man be three days and three nights in the heart of the earth.
    -Matthew 12:39-40”
    Again, Hagee dissects the verse and removes a key portion. Jesus was responding to the request for a sign and says, “”An evil and adulterous generation seeks for a sign, but no sign will be given to it except the sign of the prophet Jonah.” Jesus calls them, “an evil and adulterous generation”. The sign He would give those to whom He was speaking was the most important sign of His ministry, His resurrection. Jesus was going to give them a sign, just not a sign they wanted. Wrongly, Hagee diverts your attention in the verse by removing a key portion of the discussion and concludes that Jesus was solely speaking about the Gentiles. He continues by taking another verse out of context (p. 138) by saying that He calls Peter “Simon Bar-Jonah” not because Jonah was Simon’s father but because Simon would be like Jonah and bring the Gospel to the Gentiles. However, if you continue to read the passage in Matthew 12 you will see that Jesus declared Himself to be “something greater than Jonah…”
    “If Jesus wanted to be Messiah, why did he repeatedly tell his disciples and followers to ‘tell no one’ about his supernatural accomplishments?”
    Though there are times when Jesus squelched this publication of who He was, it was not always the case. For the most part, Jesus was not going to put on a show, neither had he come to be King but servant (cf. Phil 2:8).

    “He said to them, “But who do you say that I am?” Simon Peter replied, “You are the Christ, the Son of the living God.” Matthew 16:15-16
    And he asked them, “But who do you say that I am?” Peter answered him, “You are the Christ.” Mark 8:29
    Then he said to them, “But who do you say that I am?” And Peter answered, “The Christ of God.” Luke 9:20

    In each of the first three Gospels, near the center of them, is the declaration of Peter as to whom Jesus is, “The Christ of God”/” The Messiah of God.” There is no doubt when you read these passages that Jesus was and is the Messiah of God. If not, than we have a serious problem because the Bible is in error and we can no longer claim it to be infallible and therefore it cannot be inspired. At this point what use is our faith if Jesus is not the Messiah.
    The Gospel of John, written near the end of the Apostle John’s life gives us a startling declaration with regard to how Jesus’ Jewish followers saw him. John was writing to the churches who were a combination of Jewish and Gentile believers. When Andrew finds his brother he tells him straight out: “We have found the Messiah” (which means Christ). John 1:41ESV

    When Jesus speaks with the woman at the well he tells her plainly that he is the Messiah.
    “The woman said to him, “I know that Messiah is coming (he who is called Christ). When he comes, he will tell us all things. Jesus said to her, “I who speak to you am he.” .” John 4:25-26 ESV
    At Jesus’ trial before the High Priest, Jesus declares that He is the Christ, the Messiah:
    But Jesus remained silent. And the high priest said to him, “I adjure you by the living God, tell us if you are the Christ, the Son of God.” Jesus said to him, “You have said so. But I tell you, from now on you will see the Son of Man seated at the right hand of Power and coming on the clouds of heaven. Then the high priest tore his robes and said, “He has uttered blasphemy. What further witnesses do we need? You have now heard his blasphemy. Matthew 26:63-65
    Jesus, by his own testimony, declared that He is the Messiah. From the time of His birth and the angelic announcement, through his life and trial, and most assuredly by His resurrection, Jesus came to be the Messiah, the Christ, the Son of the Living God.

    So what happens with Hagee and his denial that Jesus came to be the Messiah? Is he merely mistaken? Did he misrepresent his position? If his statements had been made once in the book, one might be able to give leniency saying it is a typo or misprint. However, time and again, throughout the book, John Hagee, a pastor who is required to preach and teach truth, denies that Jesus came to be the Messiah; teaching instead that Jesus is not the Christ, he is not the Messiah for both Jew and Gentile. What then does the Bible say of those who deny that Jesus is the Christ, the Messiah?

    Scripture says: “Who is the liar but he who denies that Jesus is the Christ? This is the antichrist, he who denies the Father and the Son.” 1 John 2:22

    At this Christmas time, when our children recite “For unto you is born this day in the city of David a Savior, who is Christ the Lord (The Messiah the Lord)”(Luke 2:11), we must stand up and defend the truth against pernicious heresies and those who would promote such lies. Hagee’s own words condemn him in light of what the Bible teaches and proclaims. The truth is that Jesus came to be the Messiah and that He claimed to be the Messiah. Upon this declaration the Church has stood for two thousand years. Against such heresies as these the Church, made up of both Jew and Gentile, has contended against. Now, it is our turn to stand for truth, to contend for the faith once delivered unto us and to call Hagee to repentance and should he refuse, to renounce him as Scripture says, as “a liar” and remove his books from our shelves, his teaching tapes/cds/dvds from our homes and declare him “Anathema”.
    The truth is this: Jesus is The Messiah, the Christ, the Son of the Living God.
    May God have mercy and restrain His People, both Jew and Gentile, from falling into these heretical caverns and may He grants us, His People from every tongue, tribe and nation, both Jew and Gentile, to proclaim again that God sent Jesus to be the Messiah, the Savior of the world.

    Bibliography

    Hagee, John. In defense of Israel. First Edition; Lake Mary, Florida: FrontLine A Strang Company, 2007.
    All Scripture quotations (outside of quotes from Hagee’s book) are from the English Standard Version.

  43. Thank you so much Nancy for adding your post from Silent Cry Ministries, to the string of other comments.

    I actually did a double-take at seeing it after logging in the blog, for i had just read it! I subscribe to True Discernment blog, and had received notice of it being posted there today.
    God is good…..

    Your call for John Hagee to repent was so important i made a separate post here which included quotes from your own post.
    As we the Church, you are right–its the thing to do.

    God bless you for pointing out and reminding us of the action we should take: my hope and prayer is that he listens. If enough of the body of Christ write, perhaps he might take a second look at the scriptures…and with the Spirit of God pointing out where he has strayed, repent.

    If not, you are correct–we must:

    …remove his books from our shelves, his teaching tapes/cds/dvds from our homes and declare him “Anathema”

  44. […] commentary and an extensive reply list is here: After finding a clip and hearing the man myself, the only thing I can say is he is now a heretic […]

  45. Thank-you for your wonderful website.

    Jesus foretold that in the last days many would fall from faith in Him. We are seeing that now…in many different christian denominations. We must pray for them still, and most especially for the congregations, as many respect their elite leaders, and will follow suit.

    The true Christians I’m afraid will become fewer and fewer, and will become as outcasts. We will be persecuted for our stand in Christ too.

    Praise God to all of you real Lambs of God who see the truth.

    Yes, I believe we are in the 11th hour.

  46. Hi Linda, thanks for stopping by.

    Yes i agree, many who we believed were solidly in the faith are falling away.

    The true Christians I’m afraid will become fewer and fewer, and will become as outcasts. We will be persecuted for our stand in Christ too.

    amen. What i think is taking many by surprise, or will shortly, is that this last day world wide persecution of those who truly follow Christ, is coming/will come from within the walls of the Churches as well from the obvious lost world.

    A friend of mine from a Christian board i worked on years ago, wrote that he saw a civil war coming within the Church–i think we’re beginning to see that already.

    stop by again

    …God bless, pj

Comment navigation

← Older Comments

Leave a comment

Rooted and Grounded In Christ

Teaching Sound Doctrine & Glorifying Christ

leadme.org

Lead me O Lord

I Was a Teenage Dispensationalist

It's the end (of the end) of the world as we know it...